April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Mini Circle Wars

by kreddor - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Mini Circle Wars is a game about some red and blue circles that band together to defend against a bunch of small yellow circles.

Red circles are cannon circles, and shoot at enemies. Blue circles are harvesters, and gather energy for building and shooting.

The goal is to survive as long as possible.

Tips:
* You can zoom using scroll wheel or page up/page down.
* Pause game with 'p' if needed.
* Your highscore is saved across sessions.
* Canon towers can be upgraded :)

Problems:
* Scroll wheel doesn't work in HTML5-mode.

The game is made in Java with libgdx framework.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#559Theme3.53
#625Fun2.91
#770Overall2.97
#911Audio2.07
#936Humor1.71
#1053Mood2.33
#1064Innovation2.35
#1224Graphics2.09

Comments

stromchin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:59pm

I don't know if you know this, but upgrading towers is free, once you have enough money, you don't lose it when upgrading.

kreddor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:34pm

oops, you're right. Thanks for noticing.
I hope it's okay that I pushed out a small bug fix for this.

Dir3kt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:09pm

I liked The Space Game so I liked your minimalist version :)

Overv says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:10pm

Nice game, but it takes way too long before the first enemy shows up. I thought the game was broken.

glisk says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:10pm

Nice game, works perfectly.

josefnpat says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:39pm

Very fun!

I'm not even sure if upgrading was a needed mechanic.

I couldnt understand if the quanity of harvesters effected the income rate, or if it was the area covered that effected the income rate though.

Nice job!

HeyChinaski says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:26pm

Nice minimalistic mechanic. My top score was 5270.

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:29pm

I like tower defense! This game kept me going for a while until I was invaded by a huge horde of orange circles. Very fun game.

yetanother says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:29pm

I get my ass kicked :)

HeyChinaski says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:34pm

Got a slightly better score 7250. I wonder if with the right balance of harvesters/cannons and upgrades it's possible to continue indefinitely.

siondream says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:06pm

Nice and simple, good use of the theme! It feels a bit too easy though and it could be a bit faster paced.

mrspeaker says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:23pm

Is there a keyboard combo for zoom in an out (seeing as scroll wheel is dead on HTML5 version)?

Casino Jack says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:38am

Surprisingly addictive, gets really hard really fast though (for me anyway!)

xDreamCoding says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:17pm

Yeah pretty addictive. Only thing that bothers me, is having to click on the right panel for every building. Cant build fast enough. :D

My Milked Eek says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:19pm

Cool game though it gets hard fast.

kreddor says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:19am

Thanks for playing and thank you for your nice comments. I'm glad the game is enjoyable despite the balance and pacing issues :)

josefnpat: You're right that upgrading doesn't do much for the game currently. I probably should have left that mechanic out of the compo version. And the area itself doesn't affect income, this should have been made clearer.
mrspeaker: You can also zoom with pageUp/pageDown keyboard buttons.
xDreamCoding: It had originally made it so you could build repeatedly until you made a right click. But right-click doesn't work in html5-edition, so I changed it in the last minute.

Lafolie says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:57pm

This is pretty solid! One of my favourite LD entries thus far.

*Damn you, orange circles!"

StMatn says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:22am

Nice game. Its a good idea making the canons use energy. In most rts-games towers/units have a magically infinite ammo-source:D

Are says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:30am

Nice game, addictive, but little too slow.

lorancou says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:36am

Nice entry! I was doing very well until this happened: http://img824.imageshack.us/img824/2351/minicirclewarsgooglechr.png. A bit too much for my defenses ;)

Yorwba says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 3:02pm

Nice game, although you really should make the cannons aim more intelligently (taking the target's velocity into account) so that they do not miss that often.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]