April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

I Dream Of Circles

by SpaceStudios - Jam Entry

First Ludum Dare ever!

**Please take the time to read the story, it's the most
important part!**

Entry to the Ludum Dare Jam 26 (Minimalism). Game made in less than 37 hours!

Created by Space Studios.

Visit at: http://www.spacestudios.co

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#195Humor(Jam)2.47
#202Mood(Jam)3.16
#303Audio(Jam)2.81
#304Theme(Jam)3.18
#376Innovation(Jam)2.62
#438Overall(Jam)2.71
#482Fun(Jam)2.26
#492Graphics(Jam)2.32

Comments

longcatlover says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 9:38pm

What language was this made in?

SpaceStudios says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 11:02pm

We programmed it in java using greenfoot.

YM says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:04pm

I'm not sure if falling through the blocks more and more as the game goes on was intentional, but it stopped me progressing beyond the first screen of circcledom :(

SpaceStudios says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:19pm

haha yeah that was sort of the point with the story... if u can get by that the story and game gets much better u r close to the end of tyhe game

SpaceStudios says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:26pm

U have to continuosly jump to get thru those block

SpaceStudios says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:31pm

Sorry about the last few comments. That is a glitch that we were not able to fix. To get past the glitch, you must just jump repeatedly on the moving blocks.

Lerc says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:00pm

Wow, The story elevates this well beyond your average platformer. The end sequence got me in the feels.

SpaceStudios says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:36am

Thanks for your support!

fishbrain says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:45pm

Really nice work! (falling through blocks can be a little frustrating) The music and text give a great atmosphere.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:49pm

The collision is a little off, but it is a fun game ;D

davidpeter says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:51pm

Congrats on finishing your first LD on your first try! The controls were a bit frustrating. It felt like a lot of pixel-perfect jumping. Also, dat ending.

AlbertoSM says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:51pm

This game is confusing sometimes...I couldn't pay much attention to the text while playing.Also the level design is not mixed well with the main mechanics (when theres a gap between you and another platform on a higher level, its hard to reach it). Nice work though.

Wulo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:52pm

Great idea, but really hard :P

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:54pm

Loved the story. The controls and collision detection might be a bit frustrating though

Madball says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:55pm

The game is too little. Even the story is too little. I think you need to put it other way. Played it twice to make sure I understand the story.
Controls were awful. It seems that falling into blocks is on purpose, but flying through the half of the block didn't look any good.

Ithildin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:39pm

Congratulations for finishing =)

As others have mentioned, you should work a bit more on controls and, specially, collisions. It's one thing to have a challenging platformer where you need to calculate jumps to the pixel, and another to see objects overlapping most of the time.

SpaceStudios says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:10pm

Thanks for your support! Yeah we need to work that out... we unfortunately could not figure out how to work around the current collision issues in the time given but we are still working on them now!

May 1, 2013 @ 11:33pm

Cool graphics style. Double jump feels good. I made it all the way through. There is a some rendering glitches causing pixel to show on the edges of some textures like the spikes. Maybe try using the wrap or border color render states. Frame rate seemed to drop when a lot of stuff was on screen.

May 1, 2013 @ 11:38pm

Oops, disregard my previous comment that was meant for another game!

I really like your idea of evolving into a circle but I had to give up because the collision detection was too hard to deal with. Good music and I like the visuals but it's too hard to play. Also maybe the player could jump a bit higher.

pvwradtke says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:31am

Nice, but found it hard to get through because of the collision glitch. Try to do a post-compo fix, this would improve a lot the play value.

bvanschooten says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:57pm

Some of the jumps are impossible! I don't advice having the player fall through invisible holes.

Cheezey says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 1:23pm

The physics are awful. The game is almost unplayable.

May 11, 2013 @ 1:30pm

Brilliant little story, cool atmospehere and minimalistic sound and graphics – I'm loving it! Even frustrating collision detection doesn't irritate too much :)

Benjamin says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 4:02pm

Nice story, the platform engine is messy but you still managed to build a very good game by adding a good plot and music.

GarethIW says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 12:42pm

Frustrating collision detection, but I liked the idea and story :)

My Milked Eek says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 2:01pm

I laughed at the ending. ++

But as others said, too frustrating.
Also, the download size is too big for what it is. I'm sure it's GreenFoot that jacks up the size, but still...

stqn says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 1:52am

The Linux link points to some photo web site...

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]