Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

PST: 6 PM
*EST: 9 PM
UTC: 02:00

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

Ludum Dare 31:
Ludum Deals
???
 
Recent:
MiniLD #XX

Ludum Dare 26

April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ego Tripper - bramvq - Jam Entry

Ego Tripper: fun 2 player 'button masher' game made in Construct2.

It's the first time I'm trying Ludum Dare (and game development in general). I'm making it in Construct 2 on my own, just to get the hang of programming and gamedesign. Ego Tripper is about the social battle between two ego's, trying to get the upperhand in conversations. The game does this Guitar hero-style, by entering the right combination of keys. It's a two player game, Player 1 works with wasd, P2 with the arrow keys. The background are trippy, and each new game generates a new trippy pattern.

I hope you enjoy!

View bramvq's journal. | View all entries by bramvq

Ratings

#37Humor(Jam)3.59
#49Fun(Jam)3.62
#118Innovation(Jam)3.45
#186Mood(Jam)3.22
#188Overall(Jam)3.34
#198Audio(Jam)3.15
#262Graphics(Jam)3.24
#307Theme(Jam)3.17
#1236Coolness49%

Comments

rujo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:59am

the idea look very nice! unfortunatly i couldnt try it with another player but it seems it could be very fun to play.
a single player version would be cool.

FrozenCow says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:56pm

Nice concept! I too have no-one atm to play with, but it's a really good idea. Also the trippy interface with music somehow appeals to me :P.

Misael.K says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:05pm

Good mechanic. It's like a 2-player versus DDR.
In the heat of the fight, it's absolutely impossible to read the taunts. Since you're going for a trippy vibe, the taunts should fly over the characters head in a big fancy font and crash into the opponent. And maybe, just maybe, cover a little bit of your enemy's input commands, to make things interesting.

JustinMullin says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 6:53pm

Hah! I love the idea. I agree, when playing for real, you don't get the experience of the taunts, but the game is fun without. The art and sound/music fit really well. Nicely done!

burtlo says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 7:20pm

Thoroughly enjoyed it.

Jyrkface says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 7:38pm

Loved the little one-up comments! Simple and well executed, perfect for the theme!

Sylvain.p says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 8:01pm

The mechanics is too...QTE for me. But the two player dueling is fun. Good job.

Nonameghost says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 9:19pm

Nice! Cool idea, can definitely be used for some conflict resolution.

Blinked says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 9:36pm

Really cool entry! Love the music and the innovation of this one :)

Benjamin says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 7:31am

Nobody to play with but I can sense it must be pretty fun. As expected my right hand won against my left hand. Oh and It needs tons more dialogs. You should work on that with george broussard :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]