April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

[ ]

by Yukon Wainczak - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Control two brackets and blast those shapes before they kill you or something...
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Controls:
WASD - Movement
Arrow Keys - Shooting
Power-Ups:
[( )] - Shield: Invincible for 10 seconds
[+] - HP: Gives you 5 HP
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
http://www.yukonw.com/ - Blog
https://twitter.com/sonicspeed53 - Twitter

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#153Theme4.00
#332Fun3.23
#447Overall3.27
#623Graphics2.94
#630Audio2.58
#804Innovation2.80
#898Mood2.54
#991Humor1.62
#1744Coolness28%

Comments

Magewalkr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:25am

ok that was alot more interesting than I expected

Broxxar says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:27am

Finished with a score of 19,300!

Quite fun, though I felt the overlaying stripes were detrimental. A bit strenuous on the eyes.

adnzzzzZ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:41am

Got to 30k then stopped, could have been a bit harder as you get more points. Otherwise pretty well executed!

KunoNoOni says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:47am

Wow! That was simple, but amazing! Nice use of color and theme.

lpcustom says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:51am

Fits the theme well and a new take on shooters. Good job!

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:13am

This was great. I really like the aesthetic, it fit the theme well, and I laughed with horror when the 24 enemy came out.

Ian MacLarty says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:37am

Quite a lot of fun and suites the theme. I think I would have liked a bit more challenge early on.

paulopn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:38am

That was interesting, although a bit too easy...
I really liked the aesthetic. I wish I could shoot in a diagonal direction, though...

lulzfish_4 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:49am

Got to 9,300. It was stressful, but not frustrating, even though I had to play cross-handed so that my right hand would be controlling movement (I usually play with arrow keys)

myachin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:52am

rr hardcore
cool balance
6400

vladimirdlc says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:57am

Perfect for the theme. Really great use of the resources and it is fun.

Rose says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:22am

Quite fun! I agree with lulzfish though - I would prefer to have the option of switching the controls.

ENDESGA says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:50am

Nice!

Mekuri says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:54am

Fits the theme nicely- Simple graphics, and simple gameplay. Maybe a bit to easy. I like your use of numbers. :-)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:16am

Nice work! Theme was met well and the gameplay was solid. The audio, however, really killed it for me because of the piercing tones, but I'll let it slide cause it went well with the theme :)

kyyninen says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:37am

Nice! Would have loved more offensive powerups, like autobomb or piercing bullets.

Hiscore: 40400

64Mega says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:11am

Nice little game, quite challenging after the initial 2 minute or so. I made 14000 points.

With the WASD control scheme, allowing the player to aim in all directions, and use the mouse to do so, might have been a better option.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:39am

Very simple, very addictive.

Luxorix says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:31am

Unusual! 16300...

Corofides says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:03am

Was pretty fun once I actually read the instructions and worked out you could shoot. An enjoyable little game.

lapogo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:33pm

I really liked it! I wish it felt like my bullets and being hit by enemy's felt like it had impact.

vontrapp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:59pm

Strangely compelling. Like a grayscale omnismash...

Overv says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:14pm

Interesting game, but it would have been cool if you had the additional challenge of having to stay on the background blocks. Without that challenge, they're just annoying.

karsyf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:41pm

Go to a score of about 50000 before I got bored =D Some high level challenges please!

@SamPotasz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:12pm

I liked the look of this game - very simple and reduced the shooter to its core elements.

I would love to see this style applied to the mechanics as well- "what is it about the shooter GAME that is most essential?". Hopefully this will create a game that is as unique as the art.

daandruff says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:15pm

Nice game. I think you could have used some color though. And I don't know why you decided that the monsters needed shapes around them?

loxo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:30pm

Fits the theme.

multikorv says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:56pm

Weird, reminded me of old TV-noise. Nicely done, got a good feeling. Nice and minimalistic.

garygreen says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:17pm

I really liked the abstract and functional style of the graphics. ie Number of shots needed & lives left. Nice work.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Got over 50,000 before I got admittedly a little bored... it took me a long time to die once I stopped moving, too. It's a really good concept, and I like the use of the theme, but it needs more Juice... maybe a goal, maybe some physics.

Hamumu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:49pm

I have a fundamental problem with WASD+arrow controls... and nobody ever gives me the option I need to verify if it's a general problem or if I just need to flip the controls (so give me a "shoot with WASD, move with arrows" option!). Much better would've been arrows to move + mouse to shoot. But I still made it to 29300. I hated not being able to shoot diagonally!

I like the style and stuff, pretty solid and simple. One thing really missing was feedback when you hit an enemy or especially when you get hit yourself (I know the number goes down, but noise and hopefully some particles would really improve the feeling of feedback).

Loren says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:38pm

very cool, enjoyed the style and game feel :)

mateusmcf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:58pm

Awesome game style, congratularion ;D

KevinZuhn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:40pm

I enjoyed the aesthetic a lot, and I thought the controls were fine.
It kind of escalates like crazy, and past the first minute I felt like I wasn't skillfully dodging and shooting so much as I was frantically running in circles. The screen was mostly enemy, so I was bound to hit something and get hit, and running from powerup to powerup was all that kept me alive.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:35pm

49700 points! This was really solid entry, I like how you used theme. Graphics and gameplay were nice.

Now there could have been some music, because the sound of your shooting get bit old fast. and the gameplay could use little something. I don't know, at the moment it just feels bit too simple.

rujo says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:46pm

nice one!
seems like we took a quite similar way to face the theme..

JustinMullin says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 12:13am

Maybe a little on the easy side, but fun. I love the background, and the parentheses shield! xD

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]