April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Peacemaker

by Jod - 48 Hour Compo Entry

TIPS:
-Right mouse button brings up the menu during the game
-Save often, there's no rollback feature
-CTRL lets you go through text you've already seen
-Seven different ways to die, one to survive, and one way to win!

COMMENTS:
-There is indeed no background music or sound. I really wanted to put some in but I ran out of time. Gah!

A Ludum Dare Visual Novel entry.

Created with the Ren'Py framework in the JEdit editor.
Pictures made with Panasonic DMC-T230.
Graphics edited with Paint.net
Sound made with sfxr.

Game contains mature content and, cursing and violence.

My first Ludum Dare entry.

The game contains 298 screens of dialogue.
These screens contain a total of 6,399 words,
for an average of 21.5 words per screen.
The game contains 10 menus.

There's only one .zip file that should work for Windows, Mac and Linux.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness96%
#66Mood3.79
#361Overall3.37
#477Graphics3.13
#731Fun2.79
#811Innovation2.79
#863Humor1.83
#996Audio1.81
#1206Theme2.69

Comments

Mousseto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:30am

I'm not sure I've understand what was going on, howdo we use our items? Nice job anyway.

Paul Sinnett says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:45am

This has a nice visual style. Was there any audio, because I couldn't hear anything?

AndyBumpkin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:46am

Wow, quite heavy that! I managed to get the good ending though so quite pleased.
The story did drag me in, I was definitely keen on finding out what had happened to Evelyn. I died plenty of times though :D

There wasn't much in the way of sound, not sure if that's because I'm on Win8 or anything.

Thanks for sharing your game!

Jod says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:45pm

@Mousseto: The items will be used automatically. Some menu options will become available if you have the correct items. A certain security guard will be easier to tackle if you have some kind of weapon, for example.

@Paul: Thanks! Sadly, no audio. I really, really wanted to put some in, but then I ran out of time. Curses!

@Andy: Yeah, it turned out to be a lot grittier than the low-key horror I had initially envisioned. More Grindhouse than Ctulhu. Oops. There is indeed no sound, I ran out of time :(. Glad you had fun!

semi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:35pm

Nice story, fitting art style, and something different for a change! I really enjoyed playing this although I must have made a bad turn somewhere in the beginning so I couldn't get any 'good' ending in the end anymore.

cmayhem says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:08pm

I enjoyed playing this game, visual style works well and the story is compelling.
Some ambient music or sound effects would be nice.

Covenant says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:35pm

Very nice job... Couldn't find the "good" ending, I think... Other than that, it was excelent! :)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:33am

Very depressing game.. I like it ;)

KunoNoOni says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:57pm

I liked it, got ending 3. Very well done.

EatenAlive3 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:21pm

Amazing. You definitely rocked the mood category!

hypp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:23pm

Good work. I really felt like I was part of the story.

fullmontis says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:10pm

Very dark and depressing game, and interesting story too.

FREEZX says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:24pm

Absoluteley loved it. Great job!

IceCliff says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:15pm

Made me sad, which totally caught me off guard. Are you sure there's a happy ending? :P

May 1, 2013 @ 2:46pm

I was not expecting to play this game as many times as I did. I found myself wanting to try all the combinations I could to see how far in I could get. The fact that the game is relatively short made it easy to do that, though I wish there had been a good way to save your progress so as not to have to replay from the start every time.

The slow revelation that it wasn't just your character that was crazy but the whole world was a nice addition.

The phototgraphs were a nice touch too!

GreyShock says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:35pm

I liked this game very much! The story was great, I got really immersed on its mood and plot. I replayed it a few times but I could not get to the good ending (nor being alive)! Great job!!

Also, THANK YOU for your epic text about Sgt Burden diary. You don't know how happy you made us :)

Neonlare says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:26am

Took a lot of time getting this working (not compatible with the newest version of Visual C++ Whateveritis apparently).

Damn this is a dark game. Gorgeous visuals and some serious attention to detail. Pretty much a downer in terms of plot, damn good use of the theme.

lanz says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:02am

Great game, I had fun playing it and sometimes it got me goose-bumps! Great job, it's a shame there's no music. Cool idea with eyes, loved it!

HuvaaKoodia says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:42pm

An enjoyable and well put together entry.

Nonetheless I felt like missing something vital as none of the choices I took seemed to make a difference in the end.

Then I rummaged through the source and Lo! There was a timer! I don't quite approve... although it suits the situation.

dragonee says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:59pm

Oh, that waiting was sneaky!

It was dark, but after a minute I sunk into the story. I liked it!

May 5, 2013 @ 3:44pm

Excellent job bro! :D nice mood :D

May 8, 2013 @ 2:34pm

An unusual theme to pick for a visual novel but I think you did a great job with it.

MrShoestore says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 11:43pm

First, Im super impressed by a visual novel in 48 hours, probably because it takes me forever to write my own scripts. First go through i died, and plan to play again in the future because i was starting to really get into the story. But I don't feel like it fits the theme, but dont take that away as a bad thing. the strongest thing of this type of game is supposed to be the story, which I give 3 thumbs up to... now to finish it...

JonathanG says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 6:48pm

Very interesting example of a horror adventure - I like how the plot slowly unfolded. The tech was nice, the dialogue well written, and the gameplay good. It's a shame you ran out of time for audio. The branching was really great. I died a few times but got the good ending eventually :P I was left wanting more, which is a good thing. The use of filtered photos gave a nice consistent art style.

May 11, 2013 @ 3:38pm

Very well executed interactive story. Creepy and immersive. Really well done.

OU GDA says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 6:51pm

Fantastic! Was really engaged and made it to practically all the endings (I think). The ctrl speed through is so useful and it made it really easy to run through the game looking for things I missed the first time! Not sure if black/white is minimal, but a fantastic experience none the less.
I'm not sure the best way to do some of the 'other' dialog choices, but ended up just going to menu then back.

notepid says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 6:46pm

Unique visual style and game style, actually got me playing quite some time. Nice to have stories in these "short" games! Missing more instructions in-game on how to actually use menus. Some sound and more instructions would have made it even better. Link to the theme is a long stretch ;)

May 20, 2013 @ 4:33am

Interesting to try a visual novel from this. There were a few typos, and sometimes the writing felt a bit forced, but it was still interesting and hooked me long enough to obtain three endings. Liked the city exploration mechanic.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]