April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

SQUARE

by Beardbotnik - Jam Entry

A game where you try to reach the missing pixel of a simple image.

Created by ktiger34 & Beardbotnik

For the Windows and Mac versions, check this page for anything required to run it. http://craftstudio.wikia.com/wiki/Game_Export

Sorry about having to require the downloads, but it's part of Crafstudio and the HTML5 player doesn't support some of the elements we used yet.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#221Graphics(Jam)3.40
#402Theme(Jam)2.87
#426Overall(Jam)2.75
#474Fun(Jam)2.27
#1800Coolness24%

Comments

Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:16am

Really liked the level art, cool way to be minimalist and still be 3D. Physics were a little wonky, but that might just be because I wasn't used to them yet. More levels and maybe some simple mechanic that would allow for more complicated puzzles could probably make take this game to the next level.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:17am

Very good 3d art !

notepid says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:19am

The controls were a bit sluggish, and the physics needs some work. It also bugged out at the end, where I simply started on the top of the level and could simply jump down to the missing pixel and win the game.

manabreak says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:26am

I'm not sure if the player was supposed to be able to jump mid-air, but nevertheless, nice execution. :) Could've used more levels, though.

Greg Power says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:35am

I love the robot. Reminds me of PSX-era 3D (but done well). Kind of like 3D pixel art, I guess?

I agree with project_scientist - keep tweaking the physics. And keep making great 3D art.

Kashi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:23pm

Beardbotnik ... add me on craftstudio ... i might've some ideas to make your character-control much more enjoyable. ;P
Username: dasKashi

mort96 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:29pm

Very neat and smooth 3D effect and adimations! The controls aren't quite tight enough for my taste though.

angelk says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:24am

The art was great and the motion was smooth. The acceleration from running feels rather off where it's too slow at first and ramps too quickly. I also got caught on the edges of boxes a lot. The gameplay idea is simple but good!

Rialgar says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 10:53am

I noticed it says "Ludum Dare Warming Up" in the Title Bar XD. Nice Idea and Art, just a little short.

JonathanG says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 6:47pm

The game involves your robot jumping up to find the missing pixel from the 3d image, and I liked the splash screen with music, the 3d graphics and the robot animation. Unfortunately the gameplay is unfinished - there's only really one level, and you're able to simply jump infinitely in mid-air and complete the game in 10 seconds. Craftstudio seems like a good way to enter ludum dare though. I get the feeling that the developers just ran out of time before they could build a set of levels. The splash screen says "Press start to begin", but the end level screen says press enter.

Beardbotnik says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 8:56am

Yeah, we had technical problems so we got a late start and just couldn't get more levels finished, I plan to fix a bunch of the issues and add more levels once I buy a license for Craftstudio, but until then I can't edit any of the art or game mechanics. Thanks everyone for the feedback though!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]