April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Go To Work (a Point and Click game)

by TheColorMan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my first entry and I am VERY proud of it! It sure took a lot longer than I thought...

QUICK LORE: You have woken up and it's another work day in this strange society.

I tried to give this game an engaging setting and focused more on making interesting than fun. I'm new to programming so I felt a point and click game would be a good first try. Also, I did a point and click game because http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3975n41CxAQ. There is no sound in the game.

NEXT TIME I WILL CERTAINLY SPEND SOME TIME THINKING ABOUT MY FRAMEWORK AND THE CONTROLS BECAUSE THE CONTROLS SUCK :(

Controls, information, and troubleshooting found in the README file.

Sorry about the wonkey controls, I was in super-get-it-done-and-over-with mode when it came to making the framework.

Use the "<" and ">" keys (Greater than and Less than keys) to move from room to room.
When you click something and there is a circle over it it is "selected".

Pressing the 'U' key and the 'P' key will interact with the selected object or pick something selected respectively.

Some doors need certain objects to open (such as keys or contracts).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#419Humor2.44
#443Mood3.03
#601Graphics2.97
#1064Innovation2.35
#1066Audio1.38
#1158Theme2.77
#1161Overall2.52
#1231Fun2.06

Comments

josefnpat says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:50am

Nice game here! I really enjoy the classic text/image adventure style games.

What would have helped you out is if you had polished the engine, and then put the content in. I had troubles understanding how to leave the house.

orange08 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:52pm

Seemed really glitchy... I'm not sure how to control anything... I've tried clicking and I've tried using the arrow keys(as the text tells me to do)...

Michael Hall says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:54pm

This seems like a really nice game, but honestly I don't have the patience to play these kinds of games...

garygreen says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:07pm

That was intriguing. I thought it was a decent piece of storytelling and engaging too. Nice work.

HunLyxxod says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:08pm

The controls could have been more intuitive but I liked the story. Sadly, the ending is quite abrupt.

kratorspore says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:08pm

Got sucked in and played through the whole thing.

TheColorMan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:22pm

Sorry about the abrupt ending, half way through making the content I realized I hadn't planned an ending yet.

Bevilacqua says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:32pm

I enjoyed it.

jackspinoza says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:55pm

woo, had a kind of 1984 feel to it. The controls were really weird and not very intuitive. I liked finding the potato.

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:04pm

Nice game! Well done :)

badlydrawnrod says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:11pm

Very distopian indeed. Good story.

May 2, 2013 @ 12:34pm

Nice graphics, good job!

May 2, 2013 @ 9:34pm

Oh wow this triggers the nostalgia vibe pretty hard. If you'd used some of the MS Paint patterns it would have been perfect for that. Nice work.

ilo says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:47pm

This is a good first entry!

I really liked the setting and storytelling, and it was presented in a way - by showing, rather than telling - which piqued my curiosity to explore.

zeelyndz says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:48pm

Interesting idea, the controls are really buggy and it made it really hard to play. The writing of the story is a little choppy at times and the idea to click to advance the story then use the keyboard to move around gets confusing.

Blinked says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:18pm

Very nicely done :D

angelk says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:30am

The game seems well implemented! I like the drawings and the writing. The most difficult part is the controls. I'm not sure why you chose the < and > keys instead of the arrow keys. I didn't seem to find any sound?

netmute says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:37pm

I'm on a Mac. Sorry :(

JonathanG says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 6:47pm

It seemed like a good dystopian world, but I just couldn't get into it because of the bugs and interface problems. A couple of little bugs being fixed would help no end - I had problems with control focus on the window which made my keypresses stop working after getting the store key. You check for mouse clicks, but not for mouse drags, so you don't pick up clicks unless you have your mouse stationary, which is frustrating. Using both the keyboard and mouse seems unnecessary, I would just use the mouse for everything, and use right click for interaction and picking up, with buttons on the side of the screen to move between scenes. I realise these problems are all due to rushing to get the framework finished, so it's not surprising.

May 12, 2013 @ 11:13pm

Unfortunately I can't rate this game since it's a Windows entry.

dalbinblue says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 1:46am

Good start to a point and click adventure. Got stuck after leaving the apartment building, I believe the game crashed as no controls seemed to work. As a note, you may want to reduce the number of controls to just the mouse (perhaps putting arrows on the edge of the screen.

Misael.K says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 3:35am

Nice style, controls are a bit funky, with the mixture of clicking on screen, clicking on the small arrow, and using keys from the keyboard. Maybe you are left-handed so this key combination comes more naturally to you?
The interaction might be weird, but the story was cool. Don't forget to check the flow of the game (more often than not the game would make comments about thing that didn't happen yet)!.
Keep it up!

TheColorMan says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 11:24am

@Misael.K "More often than not the game would make comments about things that didn't happen yet!"

I thought that was what foreshadowing was :(

Paul Sinnett says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 11:20pm

The interaction mechanics were quite quick to use, once I got the hang of them.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]