April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

MinimalFive

by Roan Contreras - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A game where you'll help a guy learn the Simple. With his ideas that are simple games, visualized with an art movement of minimalism.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#204Audio3.30
#238Humor2.80
#383Fun3.17
#390Overall3.33
#446Theme3.64
#455Mood3.00
#573Innovation3.11
#669Graphics2.89

Comments

B says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 4:55pm

I like this! Pretty cool set of challenges. +1

netguy204 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:22am

Yeah! Nice work. Love the different challenges and the general feel of playfulness. You did good work.

tiffi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:23am

I like the game(s), good idea

finefin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:25am

yep, nice collection of minimalistic minigames.
I like the music and the humor of the game-dev-cutscenes :)

TaleLore says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:49pm

I liked it, pretty good game.

fullmontis says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:59pm

The intro made me LOL. The gameplay is great, simple yet fun, as it should be. Graphics and sould effects are very cool. Good job!

JAH2488 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:04am

Fun, but can be a little hard. Very cool.

Zampi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:08am

Nice work

WiseGAMER says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:24am

Lovely game! keep up the good work.

rujo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:57pm

excellent entry, really complete and theme fitting

Zillix says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:42am

very unique! the simple gameplay works well, and the sounds and aesthetic were fantastic

LTyrosine says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:42am

Amazing theme usage. 5/5 on fun. Considering theme, one of the best games on LD26 for no doubt.

kazukishida says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:15pm

Maybe it's just me, but I found the mini-games difficult. XD It was immersive and challenging, nonetheless.

And the self awareness of the whole game made for some very nice humor. XD

f7f5 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:47pm

Loved the idea and the mood, the graphics and the music. The minigames were challenging, but on my machine (Linux with ff, chrome or opera), the gameplay was kind of "jumpy" and the response somehow sluggish, so I had to give up on the 4th mini-game.

f7f5 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:04pm

Actually, just tried again after a reboot and the "sluggishness" was gone. My problem.

metalcan says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:13pm

Really fun game(s), played through the whole thing. Great idea and funny story. Great variation.

thephantom says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:16am

loved it especially the text :) great game

Prelucid says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:39pm

Cool idea OP, but it made me go crazy by the end!

nintendoeats says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:43pm

This...this was a sendup of the theme right? Or...I don't know.

Extremely well done. I'm annoyed at how clever I thought this was, which I presume is the point. The text did get a bit difficult to read eventually. My head was starting to explode.

vrinek says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:50pm

This was a very good compilation. I would love to see this game in a more complete state after the competition.

hissssssssss says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:53am

There's a nice message here about game development, plus it was funny and the games were creative.

Still, the second game didn't work for me. After clearing all the shapes, it wouldn't let me advance to the next stage, just kept replaying the second game over and over.

Lythom says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:48am

Nice idea, nice thougths about minimalism, well implemented. It looks pretty clean and polished. What imo could be improved : a bit less talking (very long to read all the text), change music between minigames ? (I'm not sure it's a good idea, but it may worth trying).
very good overall, thanks for the game !

PsenFilip says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:06pm

I enjoyed a couple of runs.

I don't get the instructions text plus walk to the right screens. I think they are really not needed.

Think the diamonds level difficulty set is just a tad off. The red - instant-incinerate-you - blocks get in the way sometimes in a unforgiving manner.

The music fits your game but gets repetitive.

pikmin4000 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:02am

Thanks for playing/rating my game! Your game is incredibly unique and creative, I find it hard to believe all of it was made in only 48 hours. Well anyways, great graphics/music, with the exception that your main character doesn't have any walking animation. The games have a good progression system, and could use some tweaking, but other than that- fantastic varied gameplay

loxo says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:48am

Great idea and good implementation. Really challenging game.

Per says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 9:14pm

Very clever idea!

atraxgames says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 7:31pm

Very fun, and cool music!

kill0u says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 12:29pm

Love it :)

avidgamerNino says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 11:45pm

Great take on the theme, I like how there a different games.

Sylvain.p says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 10:13pm

Cool mini-games, great entry. I will read your construct code if it's not disturb you.

May 14, 2013 @ 11:46am

Thanks guys for playing and rating the game... I hope you guys enjoyed my 2 days of hardwork hehe... I hope the others will do it too :D

Sylvain.p - Hey, not a problem... That's why I've shared the source code of this game. ;)

May 20, 2013 @ 10:03pm

I like the idea, but the shoot'em up is really hard ! O.O
It's fun, a bit too fast to read text (maybe because I kept the button pressed)

Great Job !

davidpeter says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 11:46pm

Clicking the squares is too challenging on a trackpad :(

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]