April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Run

by Ryxuma - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Run - run as far as you can

Controls:
LEFT - move left
RIGHT - move right
UP - jump
SHIFT - stick

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1864Coolness20%

Comments

Gas says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:39am

Pretty fun game despite tiny lag issues and the death text being of screen its a sweet game. ill vote on yours when voting start. give mine a vote to? thanks

YM says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:39pm

"ere have you gon"?

Super Hamster says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:29am

I program in Java aswell! :D Anyways, I got an exception in the initialization so I couldn't play it. D: And unfortunately, I have never seen this exception before so I do not know how to help you.

Jorjon says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:45pm

I like the twist of this game. Pretty simple though.

mrexcessive says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:45pm

Well that was weird... Death by fading out is nice. The jumping/flying mechanism is most tricky to control.

garygreen says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:34am

I liked the quirkyness of this game and the end message too. I wasn't sure whether I was playing it right at first, because it didn't give me any kind of visual or audio cues during the game.

May 8, 2013 @ 1:24pm

The platforming physics are very rough. The player gets stuck inside the ground very often. Movement is far too fast, near uncontrollable. Also text is cut off.

Norgg says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 12:06pm

I liked the blobby, perlin-noise terrain, it was nice and varied and fairly well spaced.

After the first run I found this quite easy, there didn't seem to be any real progression to it though or anything to be running to or from. Even just showing how far you'd run when you die would have helped with some feeling of progress.

The physics were a bit glitchy in places, jumping up into something from underneath would often leave you slightly embedded in it, and from there or the side you could move off and jump again.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]