April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

In the dark

by jontturi - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Enter a world with no story, just some nice music and jumping.

Or is there a story? If yes, find out yourself. If no, just enjoy the music.
You decide.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#309Mood3.19
#408Theme3.68
#544Audio2.72
#775Graphics2.74
#864Fun2.65
#975Overall2.77
#1316Innovation1.76
#1471Coolness44%

Comments

foxter888 says ...
Apr 27, 2013 @ 8:17pm

intense.

jontturi says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 6:13am

@foxter888 I really don't know if you're being sarcastic or not. If you're being sarcastic, my answer is

Very.

If you aren't being sarcastic, then

How is it intense?

Yakka says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:42pm

Some plateforms are very hard :-/

domrein says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:20am

AAAHHHH! Super hard platforming. I actually enjoyed some of the graphics and I wanted to keep going to see what the messages said, but the platforming was difficult and repetitive.

brookman32k says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 3:02pm

Very simple game, but it fits the theme... It's just too short. The pixelating effect looks cool.

jontturi says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 5:14pm

@Yakka @domrein Well, they were meant to be hard but passable. And about that repetition? Well, now I know what to look out for next time.

kibertoad says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 5:53pm

I like how the character movement and music feel in sync.

V0ID says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 6:04pm

The Effects are really cool.
I also liked the difficulty. Died just twice, so that was acceptable. Some more messages would have been great but I do know that time is short in LD ; )

FrederickK says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 6:12pm

great game, i really love it. while i played I thought about the game "flower" with the simple objective of flying and relax. the idea was good and the sound too...

Smaxx says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 1:54pm

The music is a bit too minimalistic for my likings. I'm also having quite some issues with controls: when switching Tabs (in IE10) sometimes I'm no longer able to control the character, plus some gaps seem to require perfect timing (starting at the third or fourth Screen below that arrow thingy). Overall, I like the idea, but it's - as mentioned above - almost a bit too minimalistic.

ataxkt says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 1:58pm

Found this just a little too generic - I think stronger level design might have helped bring the simplicity to the forefront.

ashdnazg says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 1:59pm

The mood and graphics are wonderful!

jontturi says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 2:03pm

@ataxkt yep, this was my first *finished* game, so good level design isn't my strong suite.

TurboDindon says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 3:08pm

Wooowoowoo, very hard platforming!
The character movements aren't easy and the game lag a bit on my computer.
The pixel transition at the beginning is a very cool effect. :)

- SEPHY (@sephyka)

psc1997 says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 3:14pm

Great! I loved that game! Veeery good job ! :-)

GameRespect says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 3:24pm

Pretty good game. Though the repetitive music is pretty annoying. Good entry though :)

Sebastian says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 3:29pm

I like the character design. Music is not bad at first, but gets annoying quite quickly.

MinionStudios says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 4:52pm

Fun and well made platformer.

HeyChinaski says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 10:23pm

Some nice solid platform physics. I enjoyed playing it.

pjchardt says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 2:13am

Nice mood. Controls felt pretty good. Layout of the platforms felt a bit random.

Misfit says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 8:53am

Nice one! Good job!

PPLo says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 5:55pm

Good plateformer. The difficulty curve was a bit strange.
The sweet music set a good mood.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]