April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

MiniJump

by JayPC000 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Windows:
Extract the folder to a Location and Run the MiniJump.Jar

Note: Apologies, I've been told, people are finding level 3 is too hard... It is beatable but I never got a chance to edit that level before the competition ended.

if you press f6 you can open the level editor, and create some platforms to bypass it. the scholl wheel changes what you place, also you can place the blocks but you cant remove them and they reset on resetting the game:

0 - 32x32 platform
1 - 64x64 platform
2 - 128x128 platform
3 - Spikes
4 - Change the start point
5 - change the end point

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#423Graphics3.23
#580Humor2.19
#737Theme3.35
#786Fun2.73
#955Audio1.96
#1013Overall2.72
#1090Mood2.27
#1248Innovation2.00
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

Tahooey says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:55am

A nice little game :)

SaintHeiser says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:19am

Find LOL and potato =)

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:02pm

Nice game! Well done ;)

kacperski1 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:23pm

Too short, but really good ;)

pansapiens says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:14pm

For some reason it wouldn't run for me on Windows (Vista :/) ... so I made a Linux build (+source):

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/126566/tmp/LD26/MiniJump_linux.zip

... which actually runs in Windows and Linux for me :)

I love the overall visual design of the levels and the colour scheme - great setup for a minimal platformer. My cat enjoyed watching me play too - she seems to love anything with little moving squares.

The nitpicks: Left/right movement felt a little sluggish. Maybe it's because my expectations always compare to one of the SMBs (Super Meatio Broboys), but I'd like it to feel like there is a little less resistance to walking. Spike collision detection should be a polygon (or design the levels so you can never walk into the side of a spike block) - but yeh, harder to implement than a box collider, depending on the engine. And finally ... the character should have a tiny little eye and mouth (dot and line) to make me care more about him/her :) Great entry, thanks for making it.

JayPC000 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:08am

Thank you everyone! :D

Kacpersk1 If you want to add to the game, there is a level editor, and the levels can be exported with the F6 key. They will be exported to res/modLevels/foo.txt

change that name to anything you want and put the file in res/levels/ and then open res/masterLevelList in notepad and add the file name too that, it should show up in the game(the game reads the master list, and then finds the file of the same name in res/levels.)

Thats how I made all the levels in the game.

JayPC000 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:22am

pansapiens I could easily fix the left right acceleration by changing some of the settings, and I could also increase the friction of the player so you would stop sooner(Some perspective this is the first game that I didn't use a static movement speed and used Velocity and Gravity and what not. So I spent a LOT of time figuring out how to do it, and less time tweaking it to play slightly better.)

The last change I was going to make was changing the Collision of spikes, in fact in the Project its changed to a polygon instead of a rect, but I didn't finish in time for the submission for the compo.

The spikes are also slightly shorter in the current build so you don't get the spike touching you when you stand on the corner of the block and over hang on to a spike.

I do like the idea of putting a face on it, I'll probably add a left right facing as well when I get a chance to add to it

pansapiens says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:53am

Ah, always frustrating when you have a feature almost done but can't get it into that final build .. know the feeling :)

May 1, 2013 @ 11:41pm

Nice simple graphics style. Double jump feels good. I made it all the way through. There is a some rendering glitches causing pixel to show on the edges of some textures like the spikes. Maybe try using the wrap or border color render states. Frame rate seemed to drop when a lot of stuff was on screen. Might look more interesting if the background wasn't flat white.

JayPC000 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:59am

KilledByAPixel, Thanks for the feedback, Im not sure what causes the textures to have that Black line above them, but I don't think i can fix it, as I think its Caused by the Slick2D rendering engine and i'm definitely looking into it.

I use rudimentary lists for all the platforms and each block is a platform even if its not reachable. Originally the Idea was to make Groupings of blocks into one big polygon, and then Generate the texture inside of it with images procedurally. But I ran into issues early on, and scraped the idea making it more simple, but slightly more Processor intensive(every update it has to check collision with EVERY platform in the list) I've been working on learning how to take this and implement a Quadtree Collision system so I reduce the number of collision checks per frame

as for the background, I was going for the game to look like a piece of Minimalistic art which made it turn out looking a lot like:

http://www.ifullscreen.com/thumbs/artistic_minimalism_wallpaper_7-t2.jpg

I like it flat white, Maybe a all white with a texture, but I didn't want to muss up the Clean cut feel by dirtying the background, and I didn't want to add a color because it would detract from the importance of the color in the platforms.

The original Idea was to make the level ENTIRELY white and the level Reveals itself as you touch platforms, in a very Bastion style. The Blocks were going to have light shadows, and you had to Reveal the colors by touching them. only once you have restored all the color or something like that, would the Exit gate open.

Most of the reason the game looks kinda bland, is because of time constraints XD

HELLO23 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:00pm

Interesting level design (I liked the potato and LOL),and I liked the graphics. The game was a bit too easy and too short.

@SamPotasz says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:00pm

Loved the whole look of this game :)

Beerman says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:15pm

Nice looking little platformer. Could have done with something to tell you that there's a double-jump - I died like 20 times on the first level before I figured that out...

JayPC000 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 6:45am

HELLO23 - I started with a level that was empty except one block to stand on, a start point and an end point. then used the F5 level editor to make the levels, then F6 to output them.

@SamPotasz - Thanks! I wanted to go for a simple look that wasn't complicated and had an artistic look. The build I did In the following days for my amusement, also have background color changes, and a HSB System for changing the colors of EVERYTHING On the fly. It creates 6 colors for the blocks and a background color randomly when you start a level.

Beerman - I had planned to add Directions as graphics that float next to the player, but trouble with Collision, caused Issues, and I ran out of time. (secret: I planned on turning this into an interactive Resume once I was done ironing out the gameplay for kicks and giggles, using the same tutorial system. but to make Info about myself appear as you progress)

Xgor says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:26am

I liked the visual style, but other than that, the game.. wasn't very intresting, could use some kind of gimmick.

May 6, 2013 @ 7:34am

Pleasing graphics, it was impossible to make a really ugly level.

garygreen says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:23am

I really liked the graphic style you used. Primitive, but stylish. It was straightforward but fun to play too.

Make A Game says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 1:34pm

I couldn't run the jar (win 7)
"couldn't find mini_game.Launcher"
I ended up taking the source I building it but my jre is the version 6 so the problem persists.
I'll probably update and try your game, but if anyone is in my situation I hope this troubleshoot comes handy.

TehSkull says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 7:14pm

I beat level 3 without cheating, so that's cool. Make ALL the levels that hard. On purpose.

notepid says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 6:06pm

Ok game, nice graphic minimalistic style. A few more gameplay elements would have been welcome after level 3.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]