April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Blind guy Vs Zombies

by vrinek - Jam Entry

Be a blind guy. Get chased by zombies. Look for keys and escape through the elevator.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#167Innovation(Jam)3.30
#221Humor(Jam)2.33
#320Fun(Jam)2.78
#322Mood(Jam)2.76
#367Overall(Jam)2.88
#437Theme(Jam)2.74
#462Graphics(Jam)2.48
#1535Coolness40%

Comments

runonthespot says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:21pm

I liked the red/green distance indicator thing especially- felt like a good way of finding things that could apply to a lot of different sorts of games.

anjack says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:53am

Interesting concept. How WOULD a blind person deal with zombies? Well done!

Tokken18 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:03pm

Interesting concept though I wish the other senses were played up more (or at all). Also, you're not really blind so much as just have poor sight (you can see perfectly fine once they're within a foot of you i suppose). I understand some concessions need to be made as it'd be difficult to represent true blindess.

The indicator rings were pretty interesting and worked really well. As a way to represent spatial awareness it worked fairly well.

Unfortunately the levels themselves were pretty bare and there wasn't much in the way of incentive to continue or go in a specific order, nor was there any real resolution. Would have liked some more structure or impetus to continue on.

davidB says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:39pm

few minutes of fun and stress. a nice zombie game.
(next time support WASD for azerty keyboard ZQSD, only 2 more letter to map, or arrows)

davidpeter says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:04am

Good idea with the radar. I felt like this game was too easy though and the crosshair was a confusing representation of the main character. I liked how the player could remember where the walls were, very interesting mechanic.

May 3, 2013 @ 12:11am

Very cool, I loved your circular minimap! Would have loved some sound to increase tension :)

GranaDa says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:04pm

Nice innovation. Good job!

jukimv1986 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:12pm

I like your idea though I don´t see how it fits into the theme. It is nice to play, you can sense the progression through the levels and it gets intense when the zombies get close to you. Well done!

Cake&Code says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:36pm

That was really different! I loved how discovering bits of the level made them permanent additions to the visual field despite going out of range. I wish there were more levels and more mechanics but it's understandable given the time constraints and the minimalism theme.

Oh and the directions on the left say you need to get 4 keys but it seemed like I only needed 3 before I could escape in the elevator ;)

joekinley says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:04pm

It was alright. Though it was getting slower when played longer. But maybe that was just my crappy netbook.
The zombies looked a bit disappointing. But the concept was kinda nice.

No sound unfortunately. Well done.

stevejohnson says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:04pm

Fundamentally a good LD game. Audio, win condition, and linear progression would improve it a lot. The UI is more or less perfect for the concept, which is interesting.

kibertoad says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 6:18am

Really liked how the walls became permanently visible once discovered. Think you captured the theme rather well. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]