Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

PST: 6 PM
*EST: 9 PM
UTC: 02:00

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

Ludum Dare 31:
Ludum Deals
???
 
Recent:
MiniLD #XX

Ludum Dare 26

April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Snobits - gmaker - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first ludum dare. Theme "Minimalism"

Select snobits keys Q-E

Control W-A-S-D or arrows

Green snobit can blow a bumble and then fly into

Blue snobit can accelerate and smash walls

Pink snobit can walk on lava

All broadcasts are here
http://www.twitch.tv/gmaker/videos?kind=past_broadcasts

Feel free to comment.

View gmaker's journal. | View all entries by gmaker

Ratings

Coolness100%
#404Humor2.47
#871Innovation2.71
#908Fun2.60
#930Audio2.02
#983Graphics2.48
#997Mood2.41
#1132Overall2.56
#1308Theme2.34

Comments

Broxxar says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:15am

Looks interesting but I can't really play it. Both the download and web versions don't seem to be work. In no stage did "Q-E" change what character I had selected, so stage 4 seemed impossible.

Magnus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:30am

Funky and gunky.

Drabiter says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:44am

Played until level 4, where there is one only blue but unreachable jump.

gmaker says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:01am

the blue one can use acceleration (pushing enter) and it increased Y velosity when jump. You can run and jump straigth under lava

Sanguine says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:41am

Cool idea, but the controls felt a bit weird and I couldn't get past level 4.

mrspeaker says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:44am

Those graphics. Just awesome! I love that lil' dude.

cahman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:34am

Very nice job with the artwork!

caranha says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:38pm

Heh, these creatures are adorably ugly :-)

You had a very nice idea - the responsiveness of the controls could use a bit of work, but I think you are on the right path!

Also, there is a "bug" in the game: when you die, you get stuck and cannot restart. It would be nice if dying brought you back to the title screen, or a level selection screen.

I got stuck on the second level with the three Snobits, where blue just can't reach AND break the "cell" where green is locked.

Cheers!

gmaker says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:11pm

You can any time you want restart level (press key 'R')

gmaker says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:12pm

Thanks for your comments ^_^ i glad to read so nice reviews

fishbrain says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:43pm

Cute sprite.

FenrisWolf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:44pm

I got stuck at level 4 too. Really creative idea though, and lots of fun. Love the looks of the characters

ericlass says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:45pm

Looks interesting, but I don't get the controls.

SnoringFrog says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:31am

Didn't particularly enjoy this one. I think it was mostly the bubble mechanic that killed it for me, it was just too difficult to control accurately.

Szedouu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:57am

aha awesome graphic, and funny game... love dead sound

kyyninen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:01am

I won! The game brought back pleasant memories of DOS gaming era, particularly Lost Vikings and Lemmings. Though bubble guy's ability becomes pretty much useless when you control more than one dude, since you can bootstrap them across any height and distance: <a href="http://imgur.com/WKgSaRj">http://imgur.com/WKgSaRj</a> Just make them stand on each other and jump with the lowest snobit, and avot: grafity defied.

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:03pm

Nice game i really enjoyed it! Well done :)

messiano says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:12pm

Great concept, control is still a but sluggish but is a very nice 48hr prototype.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:17pm

Really liked the concept. Good job, man :)

gmaker says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:26pm

Thanks =)

henrykun says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:46pm

Very nice concept, it looks like you really thought about the puzzles, good job :.

TenTonToon says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:52am

I really dig the "Lost Vikings" vibe of this game, but the controls need some tweaking for the game to be fully enjoyable.

Also, I think it doesn't fully embrace the theme, having to control up to 3 characters - it seems more old-school than minimalist to me.

Congratulations! :)

CrazyGage says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:17am

interesting concept, but I just couldn't get past the controls. It was a lot of effort just trying to figure out how to work it.

DustyStylus says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:51am

Controls are a bit wierd, but the snobits are nicely designed!

john_conder9 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:32pm

Fun game but I got stuck on the level where I was supposed to go up in the top middle bit. I'm not sure, I think it had to do with the bubbles but I couldn't quite get it :x

Hegemege says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:45pm

Sometimes the bubbles would escape from under the dudes feet and rise in the air, thus making it kinda frustrating at times :P

Cool concept though, but felt a bit glitchy at times. Controls were fine in my opinion. Nice graphics too, those small feet :)

Zim the Fox says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:08am

Fisrt of all: Thank you for commenting on my game! :3

The bubble guy was kind of frustrating and I didn't finish the game, but the levels were well designed around their abilities and that is awesome. And the little... snobits are so ugly I can't help but like them.

Nanolotl says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:35am

I ended up giving up in the 2nd level as I couldn't understand how the bubbles worked. Sometimes they were solid and sometimes they were not...

juaxix says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:27am

The new lost vikings with the shape of potatoes :D
So cool inventive deserve +5 innovation :)
good development sir

netmute says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:57pm

I don't have Java installed, sorry :(

Rafael Sales says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:20pm

Cool game. Lost Vikings feelings!! Congratulations dude!

tankete says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:21am

Fun game, but I didn't understand the instructions so it took me a bit to figure it out. Sounds could have been a bit more subtle. Q-E didn't really do anything for me. And the up arrow didn't jump. I had a hard time with the bubble.

gmaker says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:43am

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bOcw36w2ugU Snobits walkthrough

MinionStudios says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 2:10pm

Love these lil creatures! Really fun and wild.

May 15, 2013 @ 1:18pm

Fun little game with cutesy aesthetics. Mechanics are simple enough to go well with the theme.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]