April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Mind The Gap

by amymist - Jam Entry

A simple platformer and the first game I have ever "completed."
Movement is with the arrow keys, and you can stick out your cane with X and use it to grab ledges.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1979Coolness10%

Comments

Jonapulse says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:17pm

I liked the gentleman fox a whole bunch. I got stuck at a jump to a high lever (the first lever). I couldn't see how it was possible.

amymist says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:20pm

Yeah, my biggest concern was that how to do that would be kind of a pain to figure it out. Also the controls messing up doesn't help, but if you use the cane at the peak of the jump you can hook it over the edge and jump up from there.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:15am

Fun for a while, the controls are really buggy and one of the levels I got stuck at where his torso vanished and then i couldn't even make it to the first platform. If you can make the controls more solid then it will be a lot better.

Andrewves says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:30am

At first i thought it was just a basic platformer but really enjoy the cane mechanic.

Trench says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:49am

Took me a while to figure out and when I was trying to climb over a lot of obstacles the fox would glitch out or refuse to jump. Pretty fun otherwise and nice aesthetic, however, the game becomes unplayable after the 4th level

kidevil says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:52am

Loved the fox character! Kept getting stuck on stuff throughout the level though.

kunzbe says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:25pm

the idea with the umbrella was neat.
the more I player, the glitchier it became.
in the end I only saw the fox head, shoes and the umbrella, on purpose.

joe40001 says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 2:17am

Can't tell what are bugs and what are features :P, still played the game to the end, decent first game, keep at it. :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]