April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Colors Pursuit

by Nambew - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my first Ludum Dare and I make a platform game where you need to hide in the background. The game have only 3 levels. I code the game engine with Haxe and I probably need to learn a existing game engin, but it was fun and time consuming.


Controls
---------------------
Move Left : Left arrow
Move Right : Right arrow
Jump : Up arrow OR Spacebar

Change color : A or S

Tools : Haxe, Flash Develop, Tiled, Gimp, Chronolapse, Git bash, Filezilla.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#515Innovation3.17
#611Theme3.48
#864Fun2.65
#1018Overall2.71
#1053Mood2.33
#1055Graphics2.36
#1535Coolness40%

Comments

Loren says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:59am

a bit tricky, but I did enjoy the design choice :)

Hegemege says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:24pm

Really good in terms of skill, you die after your own errors and due to not planning. Nice little game

brantkings says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:25pm

Woah. I liked the idea a lot, but this game would benefit from being able to choose less colors. Or having an easier way to pick them. Cool.

thephantom says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:27pm

very cool idea :)
but i hoped the enemies were a little slower

lanz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:29pm

I liked the concept .) Nice small game, and third level is cool! Got abe's odyssey and blackthorne flashbacks .) More level's would be more fun!

May 1, 2013 @ 12:55am

Challenging!

Taro Omiya says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:01am

This was an interesting take on stealth games. Keep up the good work!

Boiúna says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:27am

Very good use of the theme. I liked the system of colors change, but the game has little problems with the collisions with the "enemy" when the character change the colors.

KHANanaphone says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:53am

This is pretty cool. Seems like way more colors than necessary though.

May 2, 2013 @ 4:42pm

Nice idea. A bit tricky. Perhaps, it's better to reduce amount of colors?

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]