April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Other Space

by GarethIW - Jam Entry

OtherSpace

By Gareth Williams (@garethiw) and Paul Yendley (@gredgie)

Our first Ludum Dare Jam game for LD26.

Windows:
Should run on XP SP3+. Might possibly need OpenAL installed if it fails to run.

Linux:
This has been tested on Linux Mint 14 (Cinnamon), you may need to install libSDL-mixer (sudo apt install libsdl-mixer1.2). Run OtherSpace.sh. If no joy, run from a terminal (mono OtherSpace.exe) and copy/paste the output into a comment.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#94Graphics(Jam)3.89
#112Overall(Jam)3.58
#134Fun(Jam)3.29
#162Mood(Jam)3.32
#241Humor(Jam)2.27
#253Innovation(Jam)3.04
#253Audio(Jam)2.97
#463Theme(Jam)2.64

Comments

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:17am

Very enjoyable, loved the art!

notepid says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:42am

Good graphics, good controls. unfortunately the game crashes for me after the 3rd teleportation. I would like to see more of this game.

mollymus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:53am

Wow, that looked awesome! It crashes for me after the 3d teleportation aswell though:(

GarethIW says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:59am

Hi notepid, I have re-uploaded with a (possible) fix. Let me know if you see this and try it again!

Also, I think the bug was due to system locale settings (number formatting to be precise) - could you let me know what your region is set to in Windows?

BrainSlugs83 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:08am

Nice entry. Can't figure out what to do after the "yield" (don't want to ruin it for others) part.

GarethIW says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:24am

Alright, I managed to reproduce the above issues by setting Locale to French. Have uploaded a fixed version. My apologies!

BrainSlug: Nothing special to do there ('tis just a homage to the theme that wasn't), the second teleport will send you on your way.

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:07am

Cool game , well done ;)

dertom says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:09am

That was cool. Teleporting was fun...

Mach60KAS says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:34pm

Graphics were lovely, and the audio was really atmospheric. The gameplay was pretty cool and the teleportation mechanic was great! The valve references made me chuckle. :)

8BitPimp says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:33pm

Nice game. Some of the graphics are really nice too. I like the depth you get when teleporting around.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:47pm

The timer being marked in a unit other than seconds that gives motivation to getting a high score was a great idea.

triplefox says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:10pm

The gameplay loop's delta time needs a maximum limit, when my laptop fan spun up it started skipping so many frames it was unplayable. Fun game though.

Jellycakes says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:43am

Pretty decent game, I died a couple of times and had to restart but I was still interested enough to keep trying. I didn't make it to the end but it was still a really nice looking game, played well too. Nice one!

Purplescape says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:14am

This game was fantastic. I really enjoyed the art and the wonderful animations (even if the jump is a little slow). Great job on the story, as well.

May 2, 2013 @ 12:19pm

Good game i have some crashes but i like it

Alucard J says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:19pm

Very nice looking game, was challenging trying to beat the drown-timer and finding those valves(!). I would like to see it developed further, Well Done =]

JawbonedHero says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:30pm

Great game! I really like the idea of teleporting between layers and how that was implemented. Also, the controls feel precise which is sooo important for a platformer.

GranaDa says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:59pm

Nice game. Would be great a full version. Good job!

zanzindorf says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:11pm

That was sweet. I really liked the graphics and character design. I feel like some music would have helped the theme though.

acro says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:11pm

The ambient sounds work very well and I really liked the graphics. The counter and water level give a good sense or urgency. Well done.

belickim says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:50am

You have some really nice valves :D. The game is quite fun, teleporting between layers brings lots of depth, and combination of mostly monochromatic graphics with ambient sounds creates convincing mood of postapocalyptic world.

I would love to play a more polished version.

loxo says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:35pm

Very interesting concept and great graphics. Teleportation is great too. But sometimes I had issues with holding on to the next platform, maybe it's the collision detection.

MinionStudios says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:30pm

Very well done and very interesting. The funny elements compete with the dark elements...

vapgames says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 10:32am

I really like this.

May 7, 2013 @ 6:04pm

Sadly the game just crashes when I try to start it (without any special error message). :( (Win XP, 32-bit laptop here)

kibertoad says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 4:01pm

loved the character design. works well and looks great.

OrangeeZ says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 4:04pm

I liked the game and the depth effect looks really nice! Although all those valves made wonder whether you guys know anything about HL Ep3...

Norgg says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 12:56pm

Really nice art and atmosphere and the game had a lot of interesting ideas in it like the death toll and the layer teleportation, the platforming felt a bit floaty though, as if the gravity was really low.

lorancou says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 4:27pm

Nice depth effects !

Zim the Fox says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 12:23am

Fisrt of all, thank you for commenting on my game!

I had a few small issues I'd like to start with: at first you are forced to walk on a pipe, but any pipes from then on you fall through. Some jumps are too spaced apart (http://imgur.com/TLOnCTr this one made me restart the game four times) and finally, 344 288 people killed seems more like a city being flooded, not a planet dying :P

Other than that, I quite liked the game. The graphics were great and having some audio really helps out the game. I loved seeing the multiple layers of the world but I think the teleportation mechanic lends itself to be more 'puzzly' (visually, the levels are broken up, but in truth they are straight-forward).

Great job, though!
(The reference to Valve <3)

chrismcr says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 10:40pm

Nice! Like an apocalyptic 'rainbow islands'. Loved the layer/focus effect.

Misael.K says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 10:10pm

Unique graphic style. Gameplay reminds me of Oddworld's Odyssey games, but without the puzzles. Even with the multi-level platforming it felt a bit too linear at times. Nice level design.

michail says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 12:21am

Great game and story! I'm happy that I managed to rate it, just 40 minutes before end of judging.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]