April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Tiny Runner

by Jarcas Studios - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a minimalist endless runner. The playfield is technically only 20 pixels wide, but I've scaled that up to 40 to make it at least somewhat visible/readable on modern displays.

Object of the game: See how far you can run (your distance is displayed at the top)

Press Up/Down to jump over/duck under walls

Press SPACE to configure your power suit to match the color of the force fields

Press R to replay after game over

--------------------------

I ended up using Unity3D, the free RagePixel Unity add-on to draw and animate sprites, and the free Orthello Unity add-on to handle font/text display.

Was a busy weekend. Total dev time was somewhere around 7-8 hours I believe. I ran out of time, so I wasn't able to add sounds or tweak the difficulty curve like I wanted to. All the same, I think it's a pretty playable game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#207Theme3.93
#416Fun3.14
#501Overall3.22
#573Innovation3.11
#696Mood2.74
#710Humor2.03
#770Graphics2.75
#1077Audio1.31

Comments

DustyStylus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:09am

Tough little game! I like the challenge and concept though. Maybe add the "R to replay" to the instructions text as the in-game pixel font looked a bit like P at first.

Hyaku says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:32pm

Great little game.

Very simple but somehow more complex and original than the tipical endless runner.
With some sound would be a lot better.

I want this game on my android !!!

8BitPimp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:25pm

simple but solidly produced. Really looks like something from the DOS era I think.

Gremlin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:31pm

Tiny little Unity camera! Chrome resizes it just fine though, so I zoomed in to make the pixels a bit more readable on my 1080p display.

It's the times where I have to switch colors twice while sliding under a wall that tend to end my runs.

Part of me wishes that I could see two barriers ahead instead of just the current and the first upcoming one, so I could anticipate what's coming next and get into even more trouble as I over-anticipated and switched too soon. Kind of works against the minimalistic purity of one focus, though.

The timing between the barriers is about perfect, but I'd also almost want them to be more spaced out but everything moves faster, to get a better sense of speed. That would probably work against my sucky reflexes, though.

Pity it doesn't have audio.

JonRB says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:02pm

Cute and indeed simplistic. Not sure how to handle both obstacles appearing at once.

PushmePullyu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:19pm

A minimal clap to you sir. *cl*

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:27pm

It's soooo minimal

Infin8 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:47pm

It could fit on a wristwatch! It was hard on my tired eyes though. Great game overall

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:50pm

@JonRB, you just have to be jumping/ducking while you are the appropriate color. So, if it's a wall on the bottom with a red force field on top, then you have to be jumping while you are red to match the color of the force field.

Alucard J says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:14pm

Apart from the actual size of the window, this is done well.

@SamPotasz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:02pm

Cute! TIP to future players: Just zoom in with your browser and it works great

michail says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:15pm

Good one and fine approach to the theme - to bad there's no sound!

dem0 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:25pm

Really simple yet addicting

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:42pm

Pretty nice, very tiny! A little bit bland without sound though. But still pretty cool. Nice one!

AnTiCamPr says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:27pm

Very nice game! Fits the theme perfectly and you still made the game have a nice feel and I feel I could play this a lot on a mobile device. I just wish it had audio.

May 1, 2013 @ 3:00pm

Nice take on the theme. The matching part is a good feature to avoid getting repetitive too soon. Congrats on this!

hypp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:10pm

I could play this one forever. Really minimal and fun!

May 1, 2013 @ 5:14pm

creative!

Stryphe says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:08pm

Have you thought about putting this on a Pebble watch?

May 1, 2013 @ 8:16pm

@Stryphe, I'd love to release this on some kind of platform with a miniature display, but I don't think this would work on Pebble. If I understand correctly, Pebble is based on e-ink (not LCD or LED or whatever). And last I heard, e-ink displays still have pretty horrible refresh rates, and games like this need a high frame rate since things are moving so fast.

TheCze says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:00am

Impressive for 7-8 hours work. I liked the death animation.

eedok says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:01am

Turning the comments into a leaderboard got 230: http://puu.sh/2L83U.png

zatyka says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:03am

Nice use of the theme. I played a few rounds, and definitely enjoyed myself. I imaging this being a mini-game in warioware type game with similar mini-games.

rogueNoodle says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:44pm

I was doing pretty good until I had to turn red AND slide at the same time... great entry!

LTyrosine says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:54pm

Woa never saw so little Unity player hahaha... nice one, congrats.

Sebastian says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 6:43pm

Very cool little game! Once I turned some music on it became very addictive (lack of music is my biggest and possibly only criticism).
eedok wants to turn the comments into a leader-board so here we go:

eedok: 230
Sebastian: 402

euwaku says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 5:04am

You certainly earned the weirdest/smallest resolution award for a unity game :D

TurboDindon says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 7:30pm

The size of the game is very amazing and original!

- SEPHY (@sephyka)

Tifu says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 9:30pm

266! Good take on the theme, very challenging having to change colours! :D

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 6:19am

Fun and very minimal. Wish it had sounds.

Sylvain.p says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 6:43pm

It's really what we can called a small game.

JohnnySix says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 7:43pm

Seems overkill using unity for this, but it's bang on theme haha. Bonus points for the teeny weeny layout. :D It took a while to figure the colour change thing - I kept trying to jump the barriers unsuccessfully. If anything playing through the Ludum entries has taught me, it's that I suck at playing video games.

rzfmzn says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 1:04am

Loved it =OD
Gratz =O)

mrspeaker says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 8:11am

Such a great idea. Wish it had a bit of audio, but other than that I flippin' loved it!

Dotanukii says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 6:27am

Goes with the theme really well. I love the color aspect, it gives it a nice twist. Good job!

berareu says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 11:30am

Cool! The color-matching mechanic makes the game a lot more interesting than the usual runners!

May 20, 2013 @ 8:15pm

I liked the vertical runner idea. You could make a solid game out of this with more work and polish. Would work on it more. Drop the Tiny and just make a cool vertical runner?

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]