April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Solitary

by PurpleMoustache - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A Twine game with a minimalistic interface, set in a minimalistic room, about a minimalistic series of events.

What happens when minimalism mixes with being solitary?

MIDDLEWARE USED:
CSS stuff from here:
http://www.glorioustrainwrecks.com/node/5163

Blocking use of back button:
http://www.glorioustrainwrecks.com/node/5094

KNOWN ISSUES:
I forgot to stop infinite dinner on a page, so enjoy eating your crummy TV dinner over, and over, and over again if you wish.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#7Mood4.30
#153Theme4.00
#179Overall3.61
#470Humor2.35
#618Fun2.92
#702Graphics2.85
#794Innovation2.81

Comments

ddlyheadshot says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 12:56pm

Slightly buggy (infinite food) but not in a way that spoils the game. Very immersive.

ddlyheadshot says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 1:51pm

OK, having played through it to the end, I have to say I love it! This is by far the best game I've seen (and been able to play) so far!

simrob says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 8:15pm

Dark and twisty - well done! It seemed strange that there went from being lots of choices in early dreams to being fewer later on - was that intentional as a part of the storytelling?

DdlyHeadshot says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:11am

I Love this game!

Michael Hall says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:57pm

Wow, I usually don't like text based games, but the atmosphere of this one is really astounding. It's really nice how the keywords glow against the dark background. Very ominous.

dualtagh says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:59pm

Nice game, quite interesting!

invaderJim says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:01pm

Played it all the way through. You are a very talented story-teller :)

Felix20 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:06pm

Nice game, it's got a great narrative and it fits the theme well.
That's pretty much all there is to say, I didn't have any problems with it.

netguy204 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:10pm

This is slick. The simple and beautiful layout and typography really make it. I enjoyed it.

Chman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:17pm

Simply brilliant. I'm not too much into interactive fictions, twine games and all, but wow.

srimech says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:21pm

This is beautiful, really well executed.

One tiny bug, you can eat the dinner multiple times. But that isn't important.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:54pm

@ddlyheadshot & @srimech:
Yeah, that was something I left open for a planned second ending, but I scrapped it due to Minimalism. I would go and fix it, but I would have to write a sentence or two, and I'm not sure that counts as a "typo"

@simrob
Yeah, it's a storytelling reason. Options are closing, and either way the multiple choices lead to the same ending.

Hayawi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:47pm

All I can say is wow.

protensity says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:54am

A twine game! I also used Twine for part of mine :)

I like how simple and sweet it is.

Mark Hildreth says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:13am

Count me among the text-based-game-avoiders that enjoyed this one.

berjah says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:16am

Loved the twists. Good game!

vladimirdlc says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:27am

You definitely like some dark stuff, nice game.

shinestrength says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:21am

So immersive. I had to go back and check if I missed something that would help me out. :D

Gravel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:38am

Typo and colors interested me, then the story pushes me to continue.
Really well done and interesting to play.
Nice!

Puzzlem00n says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:34pm

Nice. A very good story.

I feel like the voice laid on the plot a bit too thick all at one time, but it was still enjoyable. My point is, if the voice revealed everything a bit more gradually, then it might feel a bit more smooth.

De_n00bWOLF says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:19am

One of my favorite Twine games so far. Hope there are some more to come :D

lathomas64 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:18pm

A little bit odd, wish there had been a little bit more branching, I felt a bit railroaded.

May 5, 2013 @ 3:10pm

I enjoyed this a lot. Not the most original set-up, but the story is immersive and mostly very well-written (the writing felt a bit bare-bones in a couple of places, but that's about it). The ending is very powerful.

Very nice work on Twine. I didn't find any technical flaws, except the slight problem of the "infinite dinner".

Great work!

May 5, 2013 @ 3:13pm

Forgot to mention...


SPOILERS

I like the way you allow the player to input information towards the end. First time I've seen that in a Twine game.

cfloydtweets says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:23pm

I really like the use of Minimalism here. I like that death is frequent, and it reminded me a lot of a game I made once, too, which helped :) Great work!

ovenchips says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 12:21am

Is there a rating category for nihilism? :) Interesting take on the theme.

tudd says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 3:33am

there so should be a nilhilism rating category :D

i liked how frank the narrator was ("You died.") but not sure if that was intentional.

also, liked the water idea. the idea of a main room that changes slightly over time seemed similar of howling dogs.

and the stylesheet was awesome so 5star :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]