April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minimality

by NightShadow0 - Jam Entry

I followed the theme very loosely and ended up with a game where the main mechanic involves shrinking your character.

EDIT: Removed from compo, i didn't realize you couldn't use CC stuff.

EDIT2: Uploaded a post-jam, improved version that i'll keep working on. If you want to rate the game, please do so based on the original version. But try the new one afterwards!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#350Humor(Jam)1.85
#381Audio(Jam)2.32
#446Innovation(Jam)2.35
#475Graphics(Jam)2.43
#479Mood(Jam)2.19
#504Theme(Jam)2.43
#513Overall(Jam)2.39
#537Fun(Jam)1.91
#635Audio2.56
#770Graphics2.75
#941Innovation2.59
#1018Overall2.71
#1048Fun2.41
#1229Theme2.65

Comments

jolle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:46pm

Music is very, very loud.

Takes a while before there's any challenge. Being able to shoot would probably be more fun, but not as minimal, I agree.

psychomonster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:46pm

Needs a little bit more speed... but i like the pacifistic gameplay...

jolle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:46pm

Music is very, very loud.

Takes a while before there's any challenge. Being able to shoot would probably be more fun, but not as minimal I guess.

ToastyAbraham says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:47pm

Great spaceship graphics

Norritt42 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:49pm

I like it but the mouse for movement would have been better. Since that would make it easier to move. And there is no way to shoot right? But over all i like it and the sound is grate.

Cosmologicon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:49pm

Clever mechanic, it really made me hate how big my ship was. It was fun getting the hang of shrinking down and maneuvering around obstacles. I wish it were a bit faster, is all. It took a long time for it to really get going, I felt.

jolle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:50pm

Sorry for the comment spam, wasn't meant to be two comments to start with, and I can't edit them apparently, and I need to say that the music thing was my flash player being really silly. Volume is fine!

finefin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:11pm

the asteroid looks like gollum!

multikorv says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:12pm

No sound in space, except for thumping dance-techno.

NightShadow0 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:03am

Thank you all for the comments!
I agree that the game takes too long to take off, will tweak that after the compo.
And i thought everyone knew that stars radiate techno music :)

ataxkt says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:10pm

No sound in space, but there's a techno soundtrack? ;) Takes a while to get hard, which is a shame, I like the core idea.

Yacodo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:55pm

Can tell I it slow or if my computer can't run it ? Really slow :/

qdowngames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:57pm

Well it's very slow to start, wish there was a tad more feedback to the player and "feel" to the game. I can see what you were getting at though!

Hypnohustla says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:07pm

Good effort going on here :)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:15pm

Fun but slow and graphics could use animation

May 1, 2013 @ 11:30am

There is no sound in space. Except for very loud techno.
Pretty well done game. It could be a lot faster though. The shrinking effect was done well, but there could have been a bit more situations to use it for instead of just the blue walls.

GarethIW says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:04pm

A little slow to get started, but not bad thereafter!

sekaru says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:07pm

Liked the concept but yeah definitely needed to be a bit faster-paced.

pvwradtke says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 2:24am

Shrinking the space ship, now that's something different as far as shmups go. I also like the humor to justify the lack of sound effects. The background and asteroids need some work, but the ships designs are well done for a 48 hour effort.

NightShadow0 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:25pm

Thank you all!
I should clarify that the ships and asteroids aren't mine, i got them off OpenGameArt.

TheSarcastic says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:59pm

Isn't weird that once I let go of the spacebar my bar still goes down?

NightShadow0 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:34pm

The Hold bar is how long you'll stay shrunk and is always decreasing, basically the more you shrink the less time you'll stay that way.

Milo says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 10:26pm

I like that the theme in this game is a tool available (or further, essential) to the player. I'd love to see it developed further (since at the moment, I only have to use it with the beam obstacles and it'd be cool if there were more challenging uses of it that were necessary), but it's a fairly solid game as it is.

RawBits says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 8:53pm

Boring - action comes very late.

The music is nice but isn't fitting the slow paced action.

The shrinking mechanism is a pretty good idea but the implementation could use some more thinking. I can't put my finger on it though, sorry.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]