April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

LoneStranger's Drag

by LoneStranger - Jam Entry

Drag is a minimalist skill game where you try to last as long as you can before you inevitably fail. Simple, but might take a little trial and error to learn the rules.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#9Theme(Jam)4.37
#151Innovation(Jam)3.33
#167Fun(Jam)3.17
#211Mood(Jam)3.14
#217Audio(Jam)3.07
#240Overall(Jam)3.23
#347Graphics(Jam)2.93

Comments

MaxSzlagor says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:55am

Nice job! The game fits the theme and makes me want to keep trying to beat my score. I didn't understand what to do at first, but the hints helped with that :).

Christian S. says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:24am

I took me a while until I got it, because it seems like I did something wrong, when the box hops back out. Innovative gameplay!

Xaychru04 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:34am

I like this game :) It's very simple and minimalist, so it fits pretty well in the theme.

Diventurer says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:37am

Nice game. I was trying to control using WASD and arrow keys at first - but as I recalled the name of the game, I grabbed my mouse and dragged the squares. ^_^
That they disappeared faster and faster was a bit unexpected, so I lost at around ~19,000 points on my first try. D:
It was a bit hard to position the mouse to drag the squares, but this could actually turn out a nice game for a touchscreen device. :)

omaromeir says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:50am

Fits the theme, minimal and fun ;). i didn't get it until the small squares started to disappear. I got a good score too :D.

jadams says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:42pm

Getting past 19,000 gets pretty intense and the sound fits really well. Nice work.

HybridMind says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:31am

I managed level 7, 20614 points on my first play. I'm a sucker for little skill games like this. Even if it is a little carpal tunnel happy, I had fun playing it! Enjoyed the strange drone sounds too. :D

zatyka says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:58am

Great use of the theme. The music added to the experience as well. Nice job!

Nanolotl says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:01am

Simple and fun. Fits the very well. Would be nice to try with a touch screen.

Komradus says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:02am

Not what I expected, in a good way.

Julian Ceipek says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:42am

Though simple, this game can quickly become addicting. I had no trouble figuring out what to do, although I think a rapid visual change to accompany the sound effect might make it even more intuitive. As others have said, this game would work much better on a touchscreen. Overall, cool idea and execution!

Switchbreak says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:22am

Nice idea. A bit hard for me to play being colorblind, but I made it to level 7 anyway.

Super Hamster says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:22am

Interesting concept.

qdowngames says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:22am

Sometimes the squares wouldn't grab properly, which made me end up losing. But the concept was definitely minimal yet worked.

savethejets1 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:59pm

Sweet! Simple yet interesting.

I might say that I could have had maybe 1-3 more seconds on each level. Gets really tough fast :D

N427 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:42pm

Pretty cool, had a cool mechanic.

brxtr says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:49pm

This reminds me of the minigame Sort or 'Splode (from Super Mario 64 DS and New Super Mario Bros.). I think the game could have been more fun to play if it didn't simply degrade to having to move my mouse more and more quickly and accurately, but it certainly does fit the theme. It's the kind of game which has potential to be very fun to play with more polish and interesting ideas.

blearn says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:09pm

I like it. It only took me a few seconds to realize what the goal of the game was and became much more intense then I expected it to.

Stiju says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:52pm

Great game, very easy to grasp and fun to play.

"You scored 29712 points in 103.55 seconds and made it to level 10."

messiano says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:24am

This is addictive and fun, and a great take on the theme. My only complaint is that the audio volume was a bit annoying, those squareish waves have a lot of harmonics and tend to sound very harsh, so lowering the amplitude (or filtering high frequencies) is a must. But that

messiano says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:25am

... but that's very minor, overall it's a nice entry, I enjoyed it.

lasergans says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:07pm

Nice game. fits the theme very good.

Teejay5 says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 5:26am

Actually really intense haha! Realized the instructions on the second try. I'd like to see this game on a touch screen...

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]