April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

M-G

by dotteri - Jam Entry

The game seems to work fine with Java 6 and Java 7 on Linux.
Use the mouse to control all the game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#94Theme(Jam)3.80
#158Innovation(Jam)3.32
#287Fun(Jam)2.84
#419Overall(Jam)2.76
#437Audio(Jam)1.75
#471Mood(Jam)2.27
#531Graphics(Jam)2.04
#1284Coolness48%

Comments

Kom says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:48am

Simple, yet fun to mess around with. My only complaint is that the noise that accompanies clicking is a bit harsh sounding.

dook says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:00pm

Pretty sweet. Took me a couple of tries to get the hang of the mechanics, but there's more than one way to play even with such a simple game. Definitely right on the theme :)

Hume says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:16pm

Looks like this is JVM 7-only. Java 7 on Macs right now is a bit of a mess. Bombed out complaining about libjawt.dylib. Probably not your fault.

dotteri says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:25pm

@Kom

Sorry about the sound, but I think that I cannot change the sound during the judging period =(

@Hume

I did this game on Java 6 and later I've tested it on Java 6 and Java 7 apparently without problems.

Thanks everyone for the feedback =)

ethankennerly says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:47am

Moving by gravity that explodes when too near interested me. If you continue to develop this, have you considered showing a ring of the radius where the gravity has most of its pull?

dotteri says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:02pm

@ethankennerly

Thanks for the sugestion. In this game I apply Newton gravity law, so gravity it's more strong when the object are closer to the object, in this case the 'gravity ball'. I think that is not necessary.

dotteri says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:09pm

@ethankennerly

Sorry, I mean "gravity it's more strong when an object are closer to another object".

Jiddo says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:43pm

Ah, sweet. Another fellow Java entry. :)

It took me a few tries to figure out why I kept dying. It is not at all obvious that colliding with your waypoint marker means game over.

Once I realized that it was quite fun to play around with tho. I managed to score 41 points, but I'm sure that others have done much better.

The graphics are a bit too simple for my taste, but it is an interesting concept and it is challenging.

The game runs flawlessly for me on Oracle's Java 7 and Linux.

Great work!

Holofire says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:50pm

Heh, nice concept. Pulled it off pretty well. Really challenging to get a high score. Great job!

hypp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:54pm

Couldn't really figure out what to do???

jerrre says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:55pm

Does not work with my mackboosk OSX10.8 java 6

JustinMullin says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:55pm

Fun mechanic. I kinda feel like I would have prefered to click+hold to move the ball around. It seems with the single click, you have to do a LOT of clicking to maintain constant control. Still, this was very fun to play.

dotteri says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:30pm

@hypp

Do click with your mouse to place a "gravity ball" which will move the spiral thing. Play with gravity to move the spiral thing and get points.

@jerre

Sorry to hear that. Please, give me the error message if any.

@JustinMullin

Really a nice idea that of to click+hold =)

Pabo says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:53pm

I was lost at first, but it didn't take long to find out about the controls and the goal. You know you have a good minimal game if you can pick it up and play without any instructions, and you nailed that one. The gameplay is relatively well balanced, although with a steep curve - I couldn't get past Score 50. I don't know if the difficulty was on purpose or not. It was a tiny bit frustrating (mostly when losing from collision with the border), but not as much as to top me from playing. I like how a single mechanic can result in so many playstyles, and it looks like the game rewards elegant gameplay rather than a clickfest. Graphics and audio were just enough to make the game playable, but given the theme this was quite appropriate. All in all, a wonderful entry for this theme, with minimality in controls, information, and game mechanics.

Broxxar says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:32pm

Really difficult. Dying by going out of bounds was pretty frustrating, especially when the first few nodes that spawn are right near the edges. It would be nice if you had a dynamic camera that moves with the player.

Blinked says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:32pm

Very fun little game. Hard, but fun :)

TomboFry says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:30pm

Played for at least 20 minutes (probably the longest I've played any game here yet!) and could only get a score of 35 :c Very fun, and very simple - Perfect for a minimalism theme :D

angelk says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:20am

Cool idea! I didn't realize at first that placing the gravity object closer to the flying dot would cause it to move faster. I wish I could see more score when I died!

dertom says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:15pm

Wow, it took me quite some time to figure out what to do. I would have been even willing to read some text :D But finally after thousands of tests, I understood :D! Actually it would have been a looot better if the gravity would have been a bit more reactive, but nevertheless good concept and good game!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]