April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Escape the Minimalism

by klianc09 - Jam Entry

Here it is. Not so bad for my first entry.... I guess. It would have been better if I wouldn't have been sick the previous day... Well a lot went wrong and time was running out, so I just decided to stretch the interpretation of the theme and just submit it no matter what.

Highlighted Features:
-May cause epilepsy
-You can remap the controls even to a controller (hurray for console gaming)
-Includes potatoes

Highlighted Bugs:
-The audio volume randomly shifts up and down...
-Upon landing on the ground the wallsliding animation sometimes triggers
-Not enough time for good level design
-Not all potatoes may be reachable

-----------------------------------
---IMPORTANT Announcement:---
-The music is "Toaster" by Kubbi, which is Licensed under Creative Commons License.
--The rules of the JAM do not explicitly disallow any use of such assets, but I think it would be unfair for all the other entries which produced their music themselves.

-->So please don't rate Audio (or just rate the sound effects) to stay fair.

-I don't want to remove the music, because it is necessary for the vibe of the game, and adding other audio to my entry after the deadline would be against the rules.

I hope this is acceptable for everyone.
---------------------------------------

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#25Fun(Jam)3.82
#53Mood(Jam)3.74
#59Overall(Jam)3.73
#64Theme(Jam)3.93
#111Humor(Jam)2.92
#115Audio(Jam)3.46
#138Innovation(Jam)3.38
#181Graphics(Jam)3.59

Comments

lasergans says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:08pm

Good job! Very cool mechanic and good use of the theme. I had fun playing :)

sboerwinkle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:19pm

Great game; kept me playing for a while. Took me a bit to set up java 7, but worth it.

hockeygoalie5 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:18pm

Great use of the theme! I found it difficult myself, but fun nonetheless!

ryebread761 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:03am

Neat but hard

Dax says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:07am

My reaction after taking my first star http://i.imgur.com/IBpzrwS.gif
Cool game

TheChris says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:37am

I was gonna stop playing, then I picked up a star and it got like 1000 times better.

KEFIR says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:53am

Best mood! :)

Spierek says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:11pm

Great play on the theme. I love the moment when you grab that star and the entire world is like WHOA.

UntitledQ says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:14pm

Best "I'll smack the topic in the face!" submission I've seen yet. Great fun!

eShredder says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:16pm

The game looks pretty dull and OH MY GOD COLOURS AND MUSIC!

This game was amazing. Just amazing. The music was fitting well and the game paces really well. The fade out effect of the star power was a really nice touch.

I did find one issue though. The landing seemed a bit dodgy, visually. It did not affect the gameplay as far as I noticed.

ashdnazg says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:18pm

Wonderful game!
Challenging and addicting!

klianc09 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:24pm

Thank you for all your wonderful feedback ^^ wasn't expecting that people could actually like it.
I also didn't expect it to be too hard. And I nearly made the mistake and made the "intro" too long ... I hope it doesn't stop too much people from getting into the game.

@UntitledQ: that's exactly what I was aiming for.
@eShredder: that's because I added a wall slide animation to it last minute (hour) and it seems sometimes when you land fast enough you are inside the floor for one frame and then it triggers the wall slide animation, haven't gotten to fix it yet.

PPLo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:57pm

Nice plateformer! I was really surprised when the dull world transform itself in a rainbowy world for the first time! Good work. And thank you for having a "configure" option (WASD movements + AZERTY keyboard = broken wrists).
However, I had musical glitches : music plays for 1 sec with a very distorted sound, then stop, then play for 1 millisec when I hit a balloon ... strange.
I also liked how you put the potato in your game :)

kernel panic says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:54pm

Monochrome... Monochrome... AAHHH! MUSICAL RAINBOWS!!!
Nice platformer. The jelly fish parts were tricky.

Purplescape says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:15pm

I love this game so much! It's awesome! Great concept and execution, it's fun.

naufr4g0 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:05am

Nice mechanic and really good use of colors! :D
Levels are really hard further.

smilingrob says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:02am

Nice way to rebel against the theme, but still apply it. Great job making it feel much better in the non-minimal world. Even though I didn't mind the theme, the minimal world in your game is much worse.

goerp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:30pm

Hey, don't feel bad about using the music. It was great and was indeed adding greatly to the vibe of the game!
I loved this!

May 2, 2013 @ 12:20pm

Epic game! i love it

Topaz says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:31pm

Really good entry! Everything seemed to work nicely together :)

May 3, 2013 @ 5:01pm

Way trippy! Solid platforming mechanics, good level design. It seems like you give the star at the very beginning of most of these levels, maybe it would be better if there was more down time to experience the minimalism.

HelkeGames says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:28pm

Nice game i liked the graphic great job ! ;)

Clavus says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:50pm

Great game, the powerup mechanic is really cool.

TuxedoFish says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:56pm

the beginning was so cool and i was like oo an intresting story maybe and then the music started and it just became fast paced and it was just so fun to play although i rage quit on like the 4th or 5th level with the octapus because i died so much ;p nice difficulty curve though

GranaDa says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:17pm

Loved this game! Really nice! Good thing the animation against the wall. Good job!

Tainted_Code says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:20pm

Hahaha! "Here is your potato, happy?" made me laugh xD GREAT game!

MegaBrutal says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:53pm

Good idea! It gets quite frustrating; at a certain point I gave it up - maybe on the 2nd or 3rd test level. I had fun regardless, and I really liked the mechanics. :)

The sound stuttered, but it's supposedly my local problem. :(

klianc09 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:00pm

@PPLo & MegaBrutal: I never got to explain it, but the music starts to fade out/slow down continuously and you have to keep collecting stuff so it won't stop.

@KilledByAPixel: Yeah, I eventually forgot about that, the minimalistic world gets too short. I also skimped on the story.

@Everyone: Sorry if it made you rage-quit, I simply tend to make games too hard. But it seems that most people enjoy to have a challenge. :)

Tifu says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:43pm

I like the use of theme, was pretty fun and challenging!

EatenAlive3 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 12:31am

Awesome! The sound didn't work the first time, so after I beat it, I restarted the application.. and played through it again because the music and sound are awesome!

scriptorum says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 7:49pm

Dammit. I couldn't escape the minimalism!

EggDestroyer says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 11:09am

I wasn't expecting to enjoy this that much, as I'm usually not fond of "random platformers". But you managed to put a very strong atmosphere, really. I also felt like some color-addict who wanted more drugs. I disliked the theme and I love the way you used it backwards. Excellent work, really, I like it !! Too bad the controls are so stiff, a smoother jump could've been better as your game is already quite hard.
Also, this "random volume shifting" may be a bug but I enjoyed it a lot :D And I appreciate your note about music !

Maple says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 12:55pm

I want to try this but for some reason the site is timing out when I try to load it...?
"The connection has timed out
The server at www.klianc09.bplaced.net is taking too long to respond."
I guess I'll try again later.

Maple says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 12:14pm

Ah, I was able to play it.
Pretty cool concept. It's a shame that the audio wasn't stable. Also, I felt like it was a little too hard to control at times, like going over the balloons in the air. I did manage to get to the end with the potato though. Pretty good entry.

Xaychru04 says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 11:19am

Great concept, pretty minimalist game, I liked the rainbow walls, that fits well with the music. Good job ;)
(And by the way, I discovered an amazing chipstep artist)

May 19, 2013 @ 10:50am

Very nice game! I like the music you have chosen, and the funky rainbow colors. ^^
By the way, the first time I failed a level, I didn't know how to restart, since 'Press SPACE to retry' was in white letters on a white background.

klianc09 says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 7:13pm

@EggDestroyer: Yes, jump height depending on the duration you hold down the jump key comes in the post-jam version ALSO why would you enjoy random volume shifting?

@Xaychru04: I really like to spread the word, since I think Kubbi doesn't get the recognition he deserves doing such great stuff (and for free)

@Dining Philosopher: yeah... I knew about the problem with the white font on white walls since very long, but I always forgot to fix it...

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]