April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

curves

by tudd - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Supports arrows, qwerty, and dvorak.

Tools:
*Windows 7, unfortuatley
*processing.org
*audacity, but just for a quick loop
*obs
*as3sfxr4sfx

first game!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#94Fun3.64
#231Overall3.52
#249Theme3.88
#363Graphics3.32
#524Innovation3.16
#714Humor2.00
#739Audio2.40
#966Mood2.45
#1503Coolness41%

Comments

16Skittles says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:14am

I can't seem to get it to run here, Windows XP Pro. It doesn't crash per se, it just starts and the window never fills in.

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:46am

Nice game! I really liked the limited stop, and the levels are pretty fun to play.
It runs perfect on win 8 64bit

yellowlemming says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:49pm

it does not appear to run on my computer(windows 8 64 bit) says could not find java se runtime environment

tudd says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:13pm

@skittles: do you have OpenGL support?
@lemming: install java.

quill18 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:06am

Something about the way this was put together was exactly right. Nice little game!

(OS/X version.)

Paul Sinnett says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:33am

Good fun game!

tudd says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:05am

thanks! glad to hear the OSX version actually runs, and that it's actually any fun :P

qdowngames says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:35am

I'd prefer it to Asteroids any day. Very smooth, well done

whitetigle says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:21pm

Controls are very responsive and the game is very cool and just fits the theme. Nice work.

May 2, 2013 @ 9:37pm

Cool, second spline game I've come across. Really nice design. Congrats on your 1st game!

gameXcore says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:46pm

A good game, I probably wouldn't have bothered with the stop & rod shooty mechanic though, the basic gameplay was enough.

yokcos700 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:40pm

An excellent game. While the floaty motion was a tad annoying, I think it also contributed to the overall mood of the game. My only solid complaint would be that there's not much difficulty once you start going back.

heuermh says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:45am

Nice one. It's actually a lot of fun to turn around at the start of a level and head down real fast. I'm not convinced there isn't something down there!

angelk says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:04am

Very nice! The particle system and noises add something very cute to the game. The challenge curve is very good, and I'm a sucker for this type of motion.

tudd says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:49pm

@dark yay!

@game @700 yeah, the red was a little tacked on, i thought it would be a good idea to make it more challenging

@angelk :D i like low-friction moving too

@heuer there's nothing! i promise!

Jesse111 says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 12:10am

Nice, it's like Lunar Lander or Asteroids, but in a maze.
Very challenging/frustrating, but I think that's the point!
Easy to get impatient and try to go faster and more carelessly through on subsequent runs.
Good work!

tudd says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 10:29pm

yay! glad you liked it!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]