April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minimally Run n Gun

by madballneek - 48 Hour Compo Entry

What if Unreal Tournament was developed for Atari 2600? This is what I imagine it would look and play like!

I would have liked to included, given more time, bots for the player (blue) team, but instead it's a handicap match! Expanding the enemy AI to include flag capturing abilities would have also been nice.

I hope you find the game fun. Please be honest in your rating and enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#483Theme3.61
#648Humor2.10
#788Audio2.29
#840Graphics2.67
#926Mood2.50
#954Overall2.79
#980Fun2.50
#997Innovation2.48
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

ThreeUp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:55am

it is fun! quick action, no time wasted

slol7896 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:47pm

It was a bit hard, but looked and played great!

LrdKzrth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:00pm

Slow to move and react but good overall

ataxkt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:21pm

I keep getting gangbanged. The sound was a bit annoying, but I like the idea.

anjack says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:24pm

I love the idea of UT in Atari graphics!

KunoNoOni says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:27pm

Player movement is sluggish. Would help if the player moved as fast as the enemies. Good use of theme though and yeah if unreal tournament was on the Atari 2600 I bet this is exactly what it would look like! :)

stqn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:35pm

Interesting idea but the controls are annoying (can’t go in diagonal; being blocked by the red squares; shooting on them seems to have no effect) and being alone against four enemies seems unfair. And the constant firing noise... Maybe I'm just tired... Also the game was wider than my firefox window, I don't see the point since it'll all hugely pixellated anyway. The game is smooth though.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:38pm

Good idea. Player controls a tad floaty, and perhaps the ai's could have moved a little slower and shot less so you had more of a chance? I had a hard time ever getting a flag much less getting it back. Fun idea though. You should develop it further.

cwilloughby says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:35am

Whoa. Instant action. Very difficult. Would have loved some teammates or a ramp up to that difficulty. Good job!

mort96 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:23pm

This is nice, but would be quite a lot better if it had better support for pressing multiple movement keys at the same time :/

May 2, 2013 @ 12:28pm

Very challenging! I like it!! Only one thing, if more than one movement could be done at the same time it would be better! Very nice game Btw!!

May 2, 2013 @ 9:36pm

Where's the rest of the *$%*# blue team? :) Collision detection was kinda wonky but I got the idea.

aeveis says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:37pm

The controls felt a bit floaty to me. Was able to capture a flag though!

StMatn says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:38pm

Awesome! Maybe its just me, but I find it hard as f**k to capture the flay, but hey, thats how games were back in the days, righ? ^^ Really nice game!

loxo says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:45pm

Nice minimalistic game, fits the theme very well. Multiplayer would be great. But I don't like the controls, they feel really sluggish.

uberneen says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:11pm

I get that the controls ramp up and down and I'm ok with it. The game would be trivial without that mechanic, but it seems like if you don't have immediate movements people complain.
Bullet behavior was really the only thing I noticed that was problematic. Maybe there's a brief invuln period between hits?

mungoman1 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:26am

Pretty fun! Only problem was no diagonal movement, it would have liked multiplayer as well, but there's no way I would expect it :)

mrexcessive says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:39pm

From what I can tell... (because I'm bad at high speed things) it is a great implementation with nice AI... too good for me to beat anyway... Picked up flag once but then swarmed. Nice one!

Xanjos says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:26am

Pretty good use of the theme there and the gameplay is quite fun. The only main problems are how slow the player moves and how overly aggressive the enemy AI can be (I think I unfortunately got spawncamped by them on one playthrough XD)

May 4, 2013 @ 12:39am

Definitely needs work on the AI (I don't expect much from 48 hours though), but it's a cool idea!

May 7, 2013 @ 4:58pm

great game for a quick bit of fun. would be great for mobile

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]