April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Home

by Jonapulse - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Home - a flash game. The entry was made in AS3, using the flashpunk AS3 game library, adobe illustrator, sfxr, and Mixcraft 6 for music. Come Home.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#152Mood3.49
#294Audio3.13
#467Innovation3.23
#520Overall3.20
#611Theme3.48
#615Graphics2.95
#688Fun2.83
#933Humor1.72

Comments

Loren says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:25am

loved this, great audio and gameplay!

syawqy says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:45am

just my thought:
the stars background should move as fast as player movement to show how fast player move

gabehollombe says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:57am

Nice minimalist soundtrack. Once I figured out that the green outline in the minimap was me, I got home easily. =-)

Deadlyapps says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:58am

Great Mood. Hard. The ending makes me tremble in fear.

Zillix says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:58am

awesome! i loved the atmosphere of the game; the sound, controls, art, and gameplay worked well together

bobo72a says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:03am

Wonderful! I'm really glad I clicked on this.

johnfn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:42am

I liked this! It's very relaxing, very minimal, and just hard enough to provide a challenge without being impossible. I had a lot of near misses before I finally got it!

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:48pm

Man that was difficult! The parallax with the stars threw me off because I always felt I was moving slower than I actually was.

Andy West says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:53am

This is very difficult and incredibly fun. You really get a sense of isolation, especially with the soundtrack.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:34am

Very challenging game: I managed to win after many many tries. The gravity effect is neat, but this game doesn't succeed in making it feel like gravity (Osmos does this, for example). I think it would be better if you were in orbit around the sun, having to adjust that orbit and use gravity wells to throw yourself around.

Good job for 48 hours though!

Diventurer says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:10pm

Lol, tried so many times - and then suddenly I just used one of those boost things and I got home. :D Took like 5 seconds.
You should have worked a bit more on physics, but sure - it's a nice game. I feel like it's TOO simple though. There's no rewarding feel when completing the game, other than getting some pixel-friends back home. :P

mrexcessive says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:29pm

I obviously lack the skill to fly a spaceship... inertial navigation system bit of a nightmare, but pseudo-realistic. Nice restriction on engine firing/charges.

May 11, 2013 @ 11:33pm

The void of space terrifies me. I managed to get home, but it was kind of a fluke. I worry that if I ever was put in this situation I would not be so lucky. 5/5 for instilling deep worry.

onzephyr says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 3:55pm

very challenging. I really liked the minimalist music it fit really well with void of space. well made.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]