April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Brave Hero

by PixelIndigo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I don't have enough time to make it as I thought it would be, but anyway it's playable now.
Used software:
-Eclipse
-Libgdx as a game engine
-Sunvox for the music
Controls are very simple:
A or +volume - Left
D or -volume - Right
Space or CAMERA - Jump
S or Touch - Shoot.
This is a story about brave hero... Or not... Choose your path by yourself.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#194Humor2.94
#216Graphics3.63
#336Audio3.07
#339Theme3.76
#455Mood3.00
#770Overall2.97
#968Fun2.53
#1129Innovation2.23

Comments

gizmo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:55am

*love* the giant pixels! ...and the "!"-boss :D

paulopn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:57am

Nice! Movement is a bit clunky, though.

DreamThorn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:58am

Pretty good, but very, very easy.

BigBlackBeard says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:01am

Pretty good idea !

deathray says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:02am

I've heard of 8-bit, but this is like 3-bit. :)

PixelIndigo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:02am

It's so laggy, because I didn't have time to optimize code. It's also not hardcore :D I wanted to make it harder, but didn't make. Maybe I'll make it harder after LD :)

Xeke_Death says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:22pm

As short and easy as it was, that was kinda fun. Second time I started it up, it randomly closed on me... Third time though, I tested my theory about the "or not" part. Turns out I was right. :D

Xeke_Death says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:23pm

Forgot to mention the music. Well done on the music, I thought it fit quite well.

PixelIndigo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:10pm

Thank you

Qrchack says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:38pm

good work man, but I can feel that you needed some more time :)

PixelIndigo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:45pm

Yeah. I will finish it after the Ludum Dare.

badlogic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:41pm

Giant pixels ftw. Flickers a little at times. Very short, but definitely worth the quick download just for the gfx. Really like the music.

free_napalm says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:41pm

It's well made (especially sound and music), but the enemies are not a threat at all and it was hard to tell apart background and foreground.

h2n0 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:49pm

Could not play very far as my phone doesn't have an external camera button so i shall not vote but other than that it is a very good game music is very nice but after a while seemed repetitive :( but good game other than that one fault

geepit says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:58pm

Really nice, would love to see it made longer

atraxgames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:43pm

HUGE pixels!

Cybearg says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:54am

I loved the big, pixel style. Very awesome visual design and it looks great!

I have to say, though, this game should be called Mass Killer. What did those big black things with the red eyes ever do to deserve getting killed? They're just in your way, but they're not dangerous at all, so far as I could tell.

The gameplay here has almost nothing to it, unfortunately, and it was often very difficult to distinguish the foreground from the background. More visual cues should be added to make that more apparent.

I'd like to see a full game made in this blocky pixel style. It's very pleasant to look at.

Madball says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:35am

Хоть и нарисовано все пикселями, мир очень детальный. Правда, определить, что - стена, а что - фон, было не так просто.
Игра довольно однообразная, босс отличается только размерами и количеством здоровья.

pokemon12 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:56pm

LOVED

aaronmueller says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:35pm

Great style, love it!!

May 1, 2013 @ 12:22pm

I don't get it :(

psychomonster says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:49pm

oooohhh nooo this cool game is so cool :D But a little short...

May 2, 2013 @ 8:53am

Liked the style a lot. Movement should be per pixel not per block. Good visual prototype. Would like to see a longer game with more to do in this style.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 4:07am

i love it -- a game i finished in under 30 seconds -- brilliant -- nice job!

lorancou says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 2:18pm

Tried it on nexus 7, not really playable...

ahm99 says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 10:47pm

I did both endings. I did notice a movement bug. But really cool game. Good job :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]