April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Occam's Razor

by Hayawi - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Warning: Not For Epileptics
Its a game about making the simplest decision...or you die.

Press S to Start
Press R To Reset
Use Your Mouse

Rate and comment on Gamejolt if it pleases you. Thanks :D

Edit: I'm very happy with all the positive reviews I'm getting from you guys. Although I was dissapointed that all the features I had in mind could not be implemented, I realized that, well its Ludum Dare. Anyway, Thank you so much everyone, and if all goes well, and the good reviews continue, I will be sure to make a better Post Compo version with more levels, features, and music.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#106Humor3.36
#475Audio2.83
#926Mood2.50
#1147Innovation2.21
#1165Graphics2.19
#1167Fun2.21
#1209Overall2.43
#1231Theme2.63

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:21am

I lol'd because I died.

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:39pm

Something in your audio is making my speakers clip terribly.

I enjoyed the McPixel-y randomness. And the music. Not entirely sure what the hammer accomplished, but it made me not die.

Hayawi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:07pm

Lol, and the music is supposed to be clipped like that, its a dirty of punishment

aare says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:10pm

I really enjoyed dying :P nice music

ella guro says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:44am

the "lol u died" song was definitely the best part

Spelchan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:08am

Tried all 4 options on the roof but died every time.

Hayawi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:22am

You have to look hard at the roof level, it can't be solved through trial and error

Mach60KAS says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:19pm

The concept was nice, but I'd rather not be exposed to bitcrushed audio like that every time I die. Maybe turn the volume down? :)

feyleaf says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:22pm

Oh my...That death made me jump a little.

Alexander says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:49am

Great use of audio as punishment for the wrong choice. Makes you really consider your options!

Tom 7 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:51am

Wow, this game is a trip. I particularly like the death music. I didn't find there to be much logic to the choices, though, so it was mostly trial and error, and mercifully short!

May 1, 2013 @ 1:58am

I thought the last level had a bug, but then i realize that i just need to..... well u guys should start reading the white text xD. Nice work on the game bro! :D

psychomonster says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:08am

;) Dying is the best at this game :D

May 1, 2013 @ 11:28pm

Hello to you too.

Jellycakes says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:18am

LOL YOU DIED LOL LOL YOU DIED

Michael Hall says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:18am

Screw JellyCake, I give it 5 stars.

nathanj439 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:50pm

Weird but fun.

TuxedoFish says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:34pm

ahaha that was very funny and cool. Really enjoyed this and it was quite fun and the lol u died bit was a nice touch ;D.

avidgamerNino says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:51pm

I wanted to save the green guy.

Hayawi says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:53pm

You saved him from a fate worse than death (Pun intended)

SuperDisk says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:54pm

That was rather hilarious.

MinionStudios says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 2:39am

Ha! Nice one, gave you five stars -- even though I don't usually like ______ games as they are a _______ that does not introduce new __________, and instead relies on being ______ and________. This is no exception.

stevejohnson says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:30am

Yep, it's weird. I LOL'd.

Hayawi says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:04pm

@MinionStudios, Don't get me wrong, although I found that your game fell into the classic horror genre, I still enjoyed playing it, as it gave me a good scare (especially the bats) and as such, I gave it a good score, I just found that it didn't bring anything new to the table.

@SamPotasz says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:32pm

I liked the crazy-ass mood present from the "HI! Hello. Hi. HELLO!" to the very last screen.

Mark Hildreth says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 1:00am

Like the idea, glad that I didn't have to start over when I died. Could have used more levels, but what are you going to do, you only get 48 hours :P

May 7, 2013 @ 1:18am

fun and short

dremelofdeath says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 10:00am

I really liked the "Hello, hello" intro. The game itself is WAY simple, though, and it needs more levels.

That said, the LOL U DIED screen scared the shit out of me (and actually angered me quite a bit). Pretty sure I woke up my roommate.

Hayawi says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 8:20pm

@Dremelofdeath, ya I wanted to add much more things to it, but I just didn't have the time. I SHALL AVENGE MYSELF REAL LIFE!!!!

Kvisle says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 11:26pm

I died. I'm also probably gonna get epilepsy..

RawBits says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 6:55pm

Well, I won I guess. But these decisions aren't made any sense. The basic idea would be a good one though. Oh and the "lol you died" song is very loud. Also 'R' seems to randomly takes back to the title screen or restarts the current scene.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]