April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

MiniMaul

by CloudiestNights - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Note: I've uploaded a new build a couple of days ago, but I forgot to update with a new source as well. Now, I've been expanding on the game and don't have the new old source available. So, this source is outdated, and sadly can't be changed.

Update 2: Fixed a glitch where you can fall off the edge and not die. Now when you press Z or X on the main menu it takes you to the game without needing to click "Play."

Update 1: Aaand wow. I have already found a typo I missed that made the game unbeatable. Will update with the correct version shortly.

---

MiniMaul is a randomly-generated action platformer. The "random generation" part took a WHOLE lot longer than I thought -I also had no time this weekend- but the game luckily turned into something playable.

---

Move with the arrow keys, jump with Z, shoot a shuriken with X. Once you grab your shuriken off a wall, you get your double jump back. You need to run Mario style to the flag at the end of the level.

---

I think that, on average, this game took me about 10-12 hours to make. I would like to thank the wonderful creator of the "Sprite Something" app, which I used to make almost all the graphics.

Please comment on what you liked and what needs to be improved! I'm planning on lengthening this out with boss battles, more level segments, and a story.

Note: I did have GameMaker open past 9PM, and I think my habit of using "ctrl-s" before playing changed the date to 9:15PM. I hope that this is alright?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#554Graphics3.03
#690Overall3.05
#731Fun2.79
#852Humor1.85
#1034Innovation2.41
#1169Mood2.11
#1211Theme2.68

Comments

cacciatc says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:23am

Sometimes the death animation gets stuck in an infinite loop it seems. That double jump animation is pretty sweet!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:12am

Oh, when you die the animation repeats until you press any button on your computer. One of the many things I forgot to make clearer. Thanks for the compliment :)

Dax says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:26am

Nice game!
But since the game is full keyboard, why do I need my mouse to click on play after each death while I could have used one of the game keys.

Jim Haslett says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:29am

I trued to play, but Symantec flagged the file as a threat. Is suspect it was because it was hosted on mediafire.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:43am

@Dax
I got off work with an hour left to go in the competition, and I didn't have about a third of the content done. I had to do a rush job on the menu, though a simple "Press Z to play" could have worked instead of the mouse...

@Jim Haslett

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:44am

@Jim Haslett
I'll upload the game to YoYo Games as well and post the link here soon.

vinull says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:08am

What kind of ninja gets one shuriken at a time? =) I love the double jump animation, neat little platformer.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:09am

Added a mirror link at the top of the description.

moomoo112 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:17am

I fell off the side into a pit of infinite despair..

kingsman142 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:20am

Difficult but fun

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:37am

@moomoo112, Yeah, I should probably fix that, I'll upload a new version soon, but until then, you can restart the room by pressing "T."

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:54am

New version updated! Removed the infinite falling glitch and made Z and X start the game as well.

Hayawi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:57am

It was a pretty decent game, good job

DkCub23 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:21am

Great game! Pretty addicting, but really difficult.

metadept says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:25am

Nice little game, with pretty satisfying controls and animations. Some very simple sound would add a lot to this. I also found myself wishing to be able to wall jump and do other sweet ninja moves, but I guess it had to be minimal :) Good job!

IHateATMFees says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:35am

The double jump feels good (so does the occasional triple jump). I liked the procedural stuff. Would like to see ability to aim the shuriken.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:11am

@IHateATMFees XD I had actually planned on having the ability to shoot up and down as well, but I only remembered to put it in minutes after the deadline. Lack of sleep can do some weird things :)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:12am

@netadept Actually, you can kind of do a wall jump if you throw your shuriken up against a wall and grab it. I'll take that idea into consideration, though, when I add on to the game!

DaGamesta says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:12am

Heh, pretty fun, albeit a tad too difficult in my opinion. Graphics were nice and added to the minimalism theme if you ask me. The whole thing was a fairly stripped down platformer I suppose, so you get decent points there. Good job, though I recommend using something like dropbox next time for storing your game.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:31am

Fun, but maddeningly difficult. The platforming action is smooth. Maybe you could make the player be able to take three hits before dying?

Pat Hemphill says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:32am

I appreciated the randomness that combined with switching graphics kept the game interesting.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:35am

@DaGamesta
Switched over to Dropbox per your request. I've learned something new for July, now!

@Dietrich Epp
My original idea was to remove the need for HUD elements like life and score, but I will think about that for newer versions.

richtx says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:52am

Sort of on the difficult side. Plays well otherwise. Could use a bit more in the innovation area.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:26am

Good start to a platformer.

stqn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:53am

Nice game! But losing on the first hit and having to restart a completely different level from the start is "a bit" harsh. I would have liked to explore the randomly generated levels a bit further...

rogueNoodle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:25am

Really fun, but day-um - that was a tough game! I only he ran a little faster, but yeah - very cool entry!

rujo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:55am

I love the graphics style, maybe a little difficult but a very fine entry

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:03pm

@stqn That is another thing that never got past the idea stage. I'll add more lives in a future update.

Thanks for all the comments and ideas!

CyberYeti says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:26am

Really like the random generation! Nice animations too and the game is challenging and fun.

HeyChinaski says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:16pm

I can tell you put a lot of thought into the level generation. The jumping and shooting is very fluid. I found it quite hard because of the one hit death but I suppose that was the point. Nice work!

nddrylliog says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:03pm

I found it quite heard! I liked: the double-jump, the difficulty. Maybe the game could be a little smoother?

May 8, 2013 @ 12:45pm

I found the controls to not be very intuitive. One of the levels I played was extremely easy and uninteresting, so the random generation may need some tweaking. The art is neat, particularly the double jump animation.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]