April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Snape

by notajetski - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Please please please take the extra 10 seconds to read the tutorial!

This is Snape!

Use WASD, the arrow keys, or a controller to move. Hit the Snape when it is the color of the ENEMY team, and defend the Snape when it is the color of YOUR team.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#142Innovation3.71
#307Graphics3.41
#458Fun3.09
#576Overall3.15
#824Mood2.61
#826Humor1.87
#839Audio2.21
#937Theme3.12

Comments

qdowngames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:44am

Interesting...a tad difficult to maneuver, but it could work!

Jase says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:45am

There seems to be a bug where if the snape is blue, and a blue ball hits it, the orange team scores. A bit annoying, but fun overall :)

Elrobo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:49am

Was neat. I kind of wish the player has a slightly different color or trail to help differentiate. And that the balls cycle was a little more nuanced, but still I played and I was victorious 10-7!

xel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:03am

Very cool concept. Was fun to play once I got the hang of the controls. It'd be awesome to see a multiplayer version in the future.

CTATZ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:13am

Pretty fun, I think this would be awesome multiplayer.

baldwinthree says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:16am

Interesting game. Would be fun with multiplayer!

larsendt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:18am

Agreed on the multiplayer! Good jerb!

pjchardt says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:48am

Interesting game. I would like to see the snape have a randomized time before changing and modify the color change to be random. Controls were a bit tough as well. All that being said I find this to be one of the most intriguing game ideas I have played so far. Playing with 3 friends would be a fun time.

Switchbreak says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:02pm

Interesting, might be more fun to play against actual people. My team's AI seemed to block me from hitting the other team's ball as often as they blocked the other team from hitting ours.

TheSarcastic says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:06pm

Awesome concept! Could work really great with multiplayer.

angelk says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:37pm

Nice concept! I like how action based it is. Definitely would be a great multiplayer couch-action game.

Cybearg says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:42pm

Neat idea! As others have said--multiplayer would be interesting.

Maybe it was just me, but it seemed like the snap would sometimes not respond when I hit it, even when it was my team's color (and I should have scored a point). Maybe I just did something wrong, though.

shiprib says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:33am

A fun game with a really solid foundation! Of course I agree with everyone that multiplayer would be an excellent addition, and sometimes the movement can feel sluggish - though that's hand-in-hand with momentum and probably just user error. :) I think having more interesting stadiums would be nice too. Maybe with those blowhole things that they have on Gladiators!

zkenshin says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:52pm

Neat little game. :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]