April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

ToyMech

by dasrkrain - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In ToyMech you play a toy soldier who is on an EPIC quest to rescue the potato from the evil robot toy! You have a ten second wind up time. During these ten seconds you can move freely and use your chosen mechanic (action). Once the ten seconds is up you have to choose a different action to wind yourself back up and continue moving.

[UPDATE] Because it is buggy for about half the people trying it please only use Web version if you are playing on a LINUX machine. http://playdierepeat.com/ToyMech%20HTML5/index.html

You can only use one mechanic at a time.

Use space bar and mouse to use your different mechanics. Have fun! Please see screen shots for more controls.

This was my first official LD!!!

Runs slow on WEB so I recommend using a download if you can!

Didn't get to try the OSX version of the game so hopefully it works! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#475Audio2.83
#739Innovation2.90
#778Humor1.94
#1228Mood1.85
#1266Graphics1.97
#1281Overall2.26
#1287Fun1.87
#1343Theme2.10

Comments

Suese says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:04am

Cool idea. Could go somewhere with this.

dasrkrain says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:11pm

Thanks! I wish I had more time to explore the concept, but at least this can serve as tech demo if anything else. :)

LZAntal says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:31pm

Fun game. Like how the controls are mouse and keyboard, gives lots of option. That little guy looks cute.

Casino Jack says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:47pm

Very good effort and an interesting twist on the theme. Not sure if it's just my PC, but colliding with the enemy locked up my browser

dasrkrain says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:00pm

@LZAntal - Thanks! :)

@Casino Jack - Ya the Web version is pretty buggy. I'd recommend using one of the other versions. Thanks for playing! :)

dasrkrain says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:30pm

Okay so the web version seems to run great in Chrome, a little choppy in Safari, choppy and no sound in IE 10 and FireFox. Any other browser data would be appreciated. Thank you! :)

Rafael Sales says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:04pm

Interesting mechanic, but controls are wierd (maybe becayse I played with Chrome).

dasrkrain says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:18pm

@Rafael, on the Web it's pretty buggy!

mtthwcmpbll says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:27pm

I like the idea, but if felt weird to butt up against an obstacle that you know you need a certain action for, but then you have to wait several seconds doing nothing so you can switch to it. Maybe if you could spring the mechanism early which disabled that skill for a little while or something. It feels like it has a lot of puzzle potential, but the pacing feels off without something to engage with during the downtime.

dasrkrain says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:51am

@mtthwcmpbll I totally agree. Unfortunately I only had a few hours to dedicate this time around... Hopefully next time I can get the weekend off of work!

marnaouf says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 9:57am

nice concept.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]