April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Square

by Charlie Dowler - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hi :)
Here is my game. I only spent Saturday on it as I didn't feel to good today (Sunday). Just press space to change direction, there is no penalty for hitting the edges but it does keep track After 60 seconds your score is displayed :)
Note: I never got round to implementing the scoreboard :(

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2059Coolness0%

Comments

Lizzip says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:32pm

As soon as I click start he flies away and I don't see him again

B says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:34pm

I like it. Really needed to have the wall touching physics implemented. Would've been loads of fun...

LrdKzrth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:52pm

Need to make it so he bounces off the walls, or have some sort of penalty for hitting the edges...

Pickehut says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:55pm

I like it!
It would've been better though if you had implemented some kind of punishment for touching the walls.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:18pm

Cheers for the feedback :) I wish I didn't get ill on Sunday. Would of loved to have finished this!

arnaudmolle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:43pm

There's a bug at the beginning, the square flies away...

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:19pm

Hey, not a bug. You just have to press space to change direction :)

mramaizng says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:56pm

I didnt really get it at first as the first few times I started the game I didnt see the square... after I got ahold of the little guy the game was entertaining. You should keep developing

bvanschooten says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 5:24pm

Nice start, the presentation is reasonable. Why move by pressing space, and not just cursor keys?

kill0u says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 11:49am

Hmm weird gameplay

GaTechGrad says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 3:23am

Took me a minute to figure out what was going on here, but I think the point is to keep pressing space to keep the little guy between the walls. I would be interested in seeing this one when it's completed.

May 16, 2013 @ 8:59pm

Nice idea, still needs some work... But it's a good start! :)

intripoon says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 10:09pm

I tried playing by the rules first and hit 28 blocks. Then I tried doing nothing, the Square just moves upwards out of the screen. Somehow it doesn't seem to hit anything any more after some time so I ended up with only 10 blocks hit.

I also vote for wall touching physics. :)

csanyk says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 4:42am

Not penalizing but keeping track of wall collisions was interesting, but you should provide some feedback so the player knows what to avoid.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]