April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Duck Balloon

by Koka El Kiwi - Jam Entry

Left/Right to move the ship.
Space to shoot.
X to shoot more bullets.

A small shoot'em up made with LibGDX, with a minimalist gameplay.
The goal is to make the greater score by shooting ennemies.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#457Theme(Jam)2.67
#474Fun(Jam)2.27
#481Innovation(Jam)2.20
#533Graphics(Jam)2.00
#534Overall(Jam)2.22
#1744Coolness28%

Comments

Christian S. says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:10am

Nice title screen design :)

mkpictures says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:57pm

Nice game :) But where do the missiles come from ? Haha :D I enjoyed it :) Good work!

Tokken18 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:51pm

wouldn't run. im on a Macbook Pro OSX 10.8.3, it just flashes then disappears.

infernet89 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:51pm

That's a start, i totally didn't understand wich kind of enemy is the last one!

Typedeaf says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:15pm

Definitely minimalistic in the gameplay department :) Would be nice with more freedom of movement and faster missiles. Liked the title card :)

yellowlemming says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:22pm

it played fairly well but missiles certainly appeared to be rather too slow, and I'm not sure why you would use the space bar when you can use x

MinionStudios says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:42am

Nice

Shugor says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:16am

This is an interesting type of shooter, the falling hot air balloon was an idea I haven't seen before. It was good how it got more difficult the more rounds you survived, but the walls of enemies were kind of cheap. The game could really use a different way of being harder. As for the player, there's really no reason not to just hold down both shot buttons, so that could use a little more thought. Otherwise, very good work~

psychopsam says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 10:28am

Hmm - I really liked your sprite design, but the end of each level ie. the brown bit confused me. Was I dying? I guess it just repeated until I died? Not bad - but more instructions were required. Still it played and didn't crash and I did things - so WIN!

May 9, 2013 @ 12:39pm

Very pretty :3
I like the missile-shooting ducks.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]