April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Jetpack Cube Man

by TrentSterling - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Sorry about this being in an unfinished state. In reality I will probably expand on this idea a bit more after the deadline, but I'm not sure.

I added coins and sounds, but I had to remove the 2nd player temporarily.

Source is really big because I accidentally included a ton of the default Unity assets.

Controls: A/D move left/right. Spacebar to use JETPACK!
Apologies for the HEAVY GPU usage. These fancy graphics take their toll.

Website: TrentSterling.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#363Graphics3.32
#539Audio2.73
#1030Mood2.37
#1118Fun2.29
#1177Innovation2.16
#1192Overall2.47
#1284Coolness48%
#1308Theme2.34

Comments

TrentSterling says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 10:39pm

Dropbox is currently uploading everything. If you get any 404s just wait!

jim3wg says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:30am

Nice

pentaphobe says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:47am

THE FLOOR IS LAVA!

rad.

manabreak says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:50am

I spotted this yesterday in Reddit and got my hopes up. If you just had more time to finish it. :)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:54am

The level design needs some pacing work. It never seems to get any more challenging. I can also fall through the lava and not die, and then go outside the world.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:55am

Looks like you've got some nice jet pack physics, and cool graphics and particles. I'm disappointed it's not a finished game though.

TrentSterling says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:00am

Hey guys - thanks for the support! I will be finishing this game - and in place of random platforms- I'll be doing random sets- sorta like Spelunky, but tower mode.

Obviously I can't make these changes to the LD version because those are MAJOR changes. But I assure you, after the competition, this game will be updated!

Tozy says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:07am

Well... it's not that bad for an "unfinished game"

visibleatom says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:07am

Well, it's an unfinished game, and will rate it accordingly. The floor looks great, though. Keep it up, there's a game in there to be finished.

Cybearg says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:31am

It makes for an awesome screenshot, but there's really nothing to this. You can pick up coins if you want, or you can not. It doesn't matter--nothing keeps track of them. You can rocket ahead of the advancing lava or you can fall into it. It doesn't matter--nothing happens either way.

I hesitate to call this a game at all. There are no goals, no consequences, and no real choices to be made. I suppose time just ran out, but as it stands, there's just nothing to it.

robcozzens says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:58am

That is really cool.
The main thing that it is missing is increasing difficulty.

bernhard says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:00am

Love me jetpacks! Graphics are cool and it runs fine on my laptop. Maybe some jetpack fuel limitation/recharge mechanics would have added some needed gameplay.

deige101 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:11pm

pretty fun

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:51pm

Cool and fun to play, but it could have really used a "score" counter or something to keep track of all my coins!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:22pm

If you take this further, adding "fuel" would be a good idea. Death, too ;) Not sure how the theme applies here but not like it really matters.

Eternal_Rest says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:07am

Seems like it could have been ok with a few more features.
Is there a goal? Score? More levels? I couldnt die if i tried.

Not bad, but needs more.

Sebastian says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 5:29pm

Some nice effects. Jetpack is a bit annoying to use because of all the blocks in the way. Maybe if you could weave between them by rotating the player to follow the mouse or something it could be really fun.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 2:42am

physics good, lava good, game play good -- however game feel more unfinished than minimal -- nice job

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]