April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

OCDC

by roaet - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The journey, albeit short, of a special Cnidaria who truly enjoys a modern living area. Straight lines is the way to go for this jelly! Help him fill the gaps.

This game was inspired by super meat boy and becomes difficult rather quickly. There are only 12 levels but I believe in you!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#57Mood3.81
#96Audio3.59
#261Innovation3.50
#278Fun3.31
#303Overall3.43
#381Graphics3.29
#462Humor2.37
#722Theme3.37
#1411Coolness45%

Comments

roaet says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:07am

Just FYI, you can definitely jump multiple times.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:34am

Great game, but difficult to control. I rage quit when I got tired of dying. If only you could hold on to things...

Martze says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:34am

I couldn't play the game. The Web version wouldn't respond to keyboard inputs, and the Windows version doesn't seem to work at all.

roaet says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:39am

One of my friends thought the controls were Arrow Keys instead of WASD and wasn't able to play it until I told her.

Test User says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:40am

Have you played Antichamber? That's what the comments in-game remind me of. Also, yeah, that helped a lot when I figured out I can jump multiple times

VDOgamez says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:45am

The controls are a little hard to manage, especially the way that you fall faster than the blocks, but in general this is a pretty good implementation of a simple concept. It felt like it needed more levels, but I don't know how much further you could take the mechanics. The blocks shifting into the holes when they were close was a welcome feature.

Neten says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:46am

Impressive game. Well done, roaet.

Nickardson says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:56am

Nice!
The music really gave the game that extra feeling.

visibleatom says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:56am

I cannot devote the time needed to try to complete this. Some puzzles seem really hard (I had to stop at level 12). I do like it, and I might come back to it later.

Chman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:09am

Interesting game. Hard to master... I played about 10 levels, but I will try again later when I'm in good shape. Nice work.

triplefox says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:43am

good idea, too much gameplay

PsenFilip says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:40pm

I loved the pace of this game. Before I joined the game I was already expecting it to be hard - because you told me so :) - and I find it is Challenging.
I completed all 12 levels and I wouldn't say it was hard.
The levels are elegant. Wish there were more to play.
Well done!

u3s says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:06pm

Great game :-)

Raimonds says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:12pm

Loved the quotes and the mood that the game sets is amazing!

metaldemon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:16pm

Great atmosphere in this one! great work! nice puzzles. takes some figuring out :D

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:10pm

While I personally didn't think it was too difficult, I did enjoy it and the sort of nursery rhyme tone it had. I took as a bird protecting her eggs, and had a fairly good time pushing blocks and defending them. Simple and to the point, it was a good attempt at making a sort of 'rougher' difficulty game.

Madball says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:14pm

A fun little game, but too little. It wasn't very difficult for me, that made it ever shorter. But I didn't find anything to complain about. And hey, jellies acutally lay eggs?

multitude says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:19pm

Cute little game, with a lot of atmosphere and nice innovation on the play mechanics

MinionStudios says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:21pm

OMG I LOVE THIS! so fun and the music was sad and made me cry, lol. Great game!

NAMKCOR says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:55am

Good game, clever yet punishing. I assume floating/flying was intended.

Christian S. says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:33pm

Web link seems to be broken ...

GranaDa says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:08pm

Windows and web links are broken. Please fix it.

May 5, 2013 @ 1:08pm

Both links are still broken.

kill0u says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 8:00pm

Windows link still broken (need the ocdc_data folder).
Can't play with unity plugin, it just won't work on my computer.
I'll check later if the windows link is fixed ;)

Spiridios says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 8:01pm

Controls need work. Trying to do everything one handed sucks for these kinds of games. Considering how many people implement "up" to jump, maybe I'm the only one that thinks this? Falling rate for the character could be tweaked a little to help with pushing falling blocks. Difficulty for level 12 was off the charts, considering that when pushed from below, things slide off. I did eventually make it, which means you had enough of something to keep my interest in seeing what was past level 12.

fermcg says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 3:39am

Great games, very nice levels - I played til lv 9! I just think space should jump. It's kind of confusing when you have to hit space to start the level!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]