April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Orbit

by boboKat - Jam Entry

Orbit is an minimalist experimental music toy. It is meant to be explored. Drag the bars around to manipulate the orbs and create new musical planets. Figure out how to generate additional planets and experiment coralling and placement to create musical patterns.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#118Innovation(Jam)3.45
#146Audio(Jam)3.36
#308Graphics(Jam)3.03
#309Mood(Jam)2.81
#349Overall(Jam)2.93
#384Fun(Jam)2.59
#481Theme(Jam)2.54
#1316Coolness47%

Comments

RARoadkill says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:23am

Fun music toy. I kind of want to see this on a tablet or mobile device. would be fun to mess around with. Good job

epaik says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:37am

Pretty fun, although I couldn't figure out any new orbs after the firey one.

fueelin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:59am

Kind of similar in idea to my entry, really cool stuff.

TehSkull says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:02am

Doesn't fit the theme to me, and really doesn't impress me musically. Keep trying though. With better instrumentation, I feel like this could be a great "toy."

Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:11am

Not really a game, but kind of fun once you continuously get the purple ball in the middle to keeps spawning orbs and make it go crazy.

boboKat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:37am

One thing I didn't mention - the planets do a 4-way audio mix based on the corner of the screen that they're in. If you get them bouncing back and forth you can start to hear this happening. To get the third type of planet you need to bounce the small sparks around enough for them to grow and evolve.

MatrixBai says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:52am

Great job, nice game.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:41am

More paddle variety/control wouldn't have hurt, I think. At least the ability to rotate the paddles as it didn't really seem to help/hurt overall play with them being fixed size/angle. Nice sounds!

MinionStudios says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:05am

Fun sound game, but I just messed around with it instead of trying to win... lol.

zazery says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:14am

When you pickup the subtle audio interacts it becomes interesting. Needs more object merging configurations!

foxor says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:35am

Very interesting idea. I liked playing it

berareu says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:27am

Nice, it's fun to make music with this game! Good job

Shigor says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:55pm

Interesting idea, although I kinda couldn't find what to do after I generated few red planets and had them bouncing around... but this would be worth expanding.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]