April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Execute

by ShinkiroCode - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Choose your actions wisely and you shall attain victory!

Since there has been some trouble with level 2 I made a convenient 10 second video to show how to solve it and for the Ludum Dare 10s video compilation project. Enjoy! Also I'm sorry for the lack of feedback from deaths, which was a pretty bad game design on my part, sorry.

http://youtu.be/q2yVJivaEvw

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#256Innovation3.51
#391Graphics3.27
#916Humor1.75
#940Overall2.81
#978Fun2.51
#1045Mood2.35
#1291Theme2.42

Comments

lulzfish_4 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:37am

I can't figure out what to do on the second level, I tried to guard break then attack but it didn't work.

lulzfish_4 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:37am

I like the concept, though.

dualtagh says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:37pm

Pretty cool game, but I can't pass the second level!

recursor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:06pm

It looks like the 2nd level may have a bug or something? I die no matter what i do to the 2nd guy.

ataxkt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:06pm

Really cool idea! Its hard to create a strategy without knowing what the enemies will do though - I found a lot of trial/error involved.

AndyBumpkin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:11pm

I also really like the idea behind the game. But there are a few things that made it trickier than it could have been to play.

Some tooltips on the actions would have helped. Being able to remove a single action from the list would have saved time. And in that case it could have recovered your last action list that didn't succeed last time when you restart the level.

Also there was no sound that I heard :(

otherwise it looked great and played pretty well - good stuff! :D

thatwhichis says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:11pm

I got to the third level before I ran into some issues :-)

Agree with lulzfish_4, I like the concept

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:21pm

Cool game concept! I was a little confuse about what to do but I really liked the idea of programming my fight. Nice graphics! I think it would have been more fun if it executed your actions more quickly and shows you more specifically why you failed.

alwaysinbeta says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:40pm

Quite good fun. Could have really benefited from some sound.

notepid says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:24am

Good concept. Could not get past 2nd level...

JokerDen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:25am

Great mechanic. But I'm also stuck at 2nd level. Even enemy fall down iy's Game Over.

rujo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:29am

nice concept, it just look like its in early development and could have been completed better, with more time maybe. nice entry though.

cahman says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:10am

I like the idea! It needs some polish (sounds, music, why a level was failed, so on). But a good entry, keep up the good work!

DaanVanYperen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:21am

Interesting control mechanic.

Travis Irby says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:43am

Neat idea with the preselected moves!

Husky says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:24am

Interesting!
I like the concept and idea!

Dabuuker says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:08pm

I also like the idea but got stuck on level two. More feedback to see what I did wrong would be good. I just died but didn't really understand why.

someone says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:07pm

Interesting mechanics.
Definitely needs more feedback. I kept dying for seemingly no reason at all.
Sometimes the only way to progress was just to try every option until one worked rather than planning it.
Managed to complete it though, despite all the text missing (Running in Wine).

GaTechGrad says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:22am

Liked the method of queuing up attacks to take out enemies. The camera had problems following the player on the second level, but I was able to use the YouTube video as a guide to beat it.

michail says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 2:02pm

Some tooltips on action and some explanations why is the player dying would be appreciated. But I like the idea very much.

mrexcessive says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 5:59pm

This is very interesting. Love the "programmed" move sequence, nice animations.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]