April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

REVOLVENGARDE

by Andrio - 48 Hour Compo Entry

REVOLVENGARDE is an action game about reflecting arbitrary objects. Survive for the longest time on three different modes!

This was my first Ludum Dare! So much fun. 10/10 would participate again.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#4Fun4.11
#9Audio4.16
#10Overall4.20
#49Theme4.24
#169Mood3.44
#185Innovation3.63
#197Graphics3.68
#399Humor2.49

Comments

Loren says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:18am

very fun! I liked how well the controls felt and the audio was spot on :)

JigxorAndy says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:21am

Amazing game! Definitely one of my favourites! I absolutely love the mechanic. It's really addicting and the music is fantastic. Overall, great job!

Perry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:04am

Wow, really cool. One of the standouts for me so far. Really polished. Great stuff.

CogentInvalid says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:06am

Really fun game. Even though the graphics were minimal, the way the paddle remained perfectly pixellated when rotated made it look really good.

saampahlavan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:15am

Super fun. I also really like how minimalistic the UI is. Super hexagon meets pong and potatoes.

Ditto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:37am

Great music. Gameplay feels tight and minimalistic in the most perfect way!

titi987 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:39am

Port on Linux ?

martijn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:39am

Very fun indeed

Msquirrel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:39am

Very Nice, Good controls, nice audio, nice game, fitted the theme well. I like how you made the menu fit with the feel of the game - if you understand what I mean, the selection scheme was really nice. The amount of polish on this game is amazing

rogueNoodle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:40am

Really enjoyed this - such a simple idea executed perfectly :)

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:15am

Really enjoyable and beautiful. My only criticism is that it's easy to accidentally advance the menu twice when holding down left/right in the first screen. I can't unlearn batting away the potatoes :(

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:21am

Very addictive an fun! :)

Sithdown says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:54am

Good!

kyyninen says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:44am

Addicting! Definitely the best sound design and music I've heard today.

geepit says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:50am

Really really enjoyed this! Looked really nice and the music was superb. Plus the game itself is really fun. Good job :)

josefnpat says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:49am

This was very well polished!

pereubu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:53pm

very addictive game with a nice audio, I really enjoyed beating my best score every time.

I just want to see what this concept can give if pushed further now :D

Andrio says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:31pm

Thanks guys! You're all awesome :)

mushbuh says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:33pm

great music as always, andrio

Mega1mpact says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:23pm

Extremely hard and extremely fun

VDZ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:45pm

Absolutely amazing game. Amazing gameplay, amazing minimalism, amazing music, amazing everything. This game deserves to win LD 26.

My high scores are 73/65/43. Anyone managed to get higher scores?

Noel Berry says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:19am

Really nicely done! The game was cool, and the menu interface was super awesome too. Really captured the minimal style.
Also, the music is great.

chrysiridia says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:55am

This is great! Also, the sound design is fantastic.

aeveis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:08am

very nice music! Controls were nice and the game feels very polished.

Waave says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:13am

So well done, incredibly self-contained and great music!

protensity says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:18am

Definitely one of the best games I've played this Ludum Dare.

The Super Hexagon inspiration is obvious, but I love Super Hexagon so it is not unwelcome. The music is great, the controls are smooth.

Hard to want more from a 48 hour game.

BumbleBirds says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:14am

Ooh, really enjoying this one! :D

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:15am

Really fun to play nice and faced paced. And I like the transition between music. Solid gameplay. Good Job!

Gungnir says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:18am

I love it - easy to learn, with multiple levels of challenge. So much fun. Great, great use of the music! So charming, hope you push it to a full release version.

CagedRat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:46am

Really interesting UI mechanic. Music and sound was great, although repetitive. Excellent smooth controls.

brxtr says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:20am

Elegantly designed gameplay, UI and music.

Chman says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:37am

So addicting ! Really fun game and the soundtrack is awesome.

ayamflow says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:11am

Super nice game, perfectly fits the theme.

Claw says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:30am

Totally hooked, gonna be playing this for a while I think! Awesome work!

8BitPimp says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:09pm

That is so awesome. The music is just great and I love how you drop in and out music elements between the menu and the game. Superb work. You should be very proud.

Alex Rose says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:05pm

This is awesome. 'Nuff said.

Tifu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:24pm

This is awesome, I love everything about it. You even used minimalism in the title screen, that is great, music is great, game is awesome and very tough D:

saguaro says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:11pm

Elegant in its simplicity. Great music, excellent control.

stqn says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:53pm

Nice idea, but it should start a little slower, especially the second level which is way too hard for me (and shouldn't be the default!). I had fun with the first level though!
(Audio didn't work under Wine.)

Zccc says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:20am

Very addictive, even tough I can't last very long. Nice game!

KevinZuhn says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:21am

Tremendously cool! It is simple and quite fun, and the higher levels add a lot of challenge.

Komradus says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:54am

Quite challenging.

jadams says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:09pm

Really enjoyed playing that, it's very well executed throughout.

Packbat says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 7:31pm

Nice game -- simple, tricky, elegant, and good music!

robotality says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 6:45am

Very well done and really fun to play.
Great game overall!

Andrio says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 8:08am

You guuys :3

Beerman says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 2:21pm

Very cool idea, the music and graphics fit the game perfectly.
Feels like it would be even better with an option for mouse control.

ethankennerly says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 4:26pm

Blocking the incoming blue square interested me and the music entertained me. If you continue to develop this for a newb like me, then I got frustrated at the level with red and blue, because I was not reacting fast enough or accurately enough.

radmars says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 9:22pm

This is awesome! Great concept, great execution, great music. Would be better if the hits were on beat though :)

kill0u says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 11:46am

Fun game :) The difficulty should be lowered at the beginning though.

ohsqueezy says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 5:44pm

I had a lot of fun! Nice potato sprite! Great attention to detail!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]