April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

potential energy generator

by rsodre - 48 Hour Compo Entry

1D game, as minimal as it can be
----------------------------
Caution, this game is LOUD!

Potential : That which is possible.

I've been thinking about the concept of potential energy some time. And also on how to pay my bills.

We know how to make and sell games, we've got all the potential needed to solve our problems. Just find a source of inspiration, add some sleepless nights, then sell the product. The trick is to know where to find inspiration and how to turn it into good gameplay. This is what Ludum Dare is about, a huge amount of potential energy suddenly released over 48 hours.

Then LD26 came with 'minimalism'. At first, I cried. I immediately started mixing geometric shapes, trying to see if some gameplay came out of it. And it didn't. Then I noticed how relieved the theme is, perfect for the 48 hours marathon, and asked myself: What's the most minimalistic approach a game can have? 1D graphics, background, subject and space bar. 1D means just one line, one measure. What can the player do with it, run? Not even jump, because jumping needs one extra dimension.

Running in 1D, you can't see what's ahead! The road is either black or white, feels good or feels bad, score or do not score! You start this quick 60 seconds journey calm and ends with a huge amount of energy, coming from where? A mix of color, sounds and voluntary wrist muscle contractions.

You've got Potential Energy generated, now go release it!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#63Theme4.17
#196Audio3.31
#268Innovation3.49
#374Graphics3.30
#409Mood3.08
#465Humor2.36
#538Fun3.00
#664Overall3.07

Comments

Apr 28, 2013 @ 12:49pm

I like it. A lot. And I don't know why ahaha. Once you find the rhythm you feel like a boss when you hit the change before it even happens and there's no static. Shame I can't rate it cause I didn't take part this time!

Apr 28, 2013 @ 12:54pm

Also, fuck the star.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:19am

Great Sound and visual design! :D

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:45pm

Great Job! Nice game :)

Chman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:48pm

Wow. Just wow. Intense game :D

techmonkey says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:48pm

I was finding it really easy until I lost time with what I was doing. Great work, oddly addictive.

Merkoth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:48pm

Didn't really "click" with me, but it certainly fits the theme.

JimmyLord says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:53pm

I feel like I saved the world.

escence says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:00pm

Nice idea, definitely minimalistic and fun to play. I tried a lot of times but just couldn't get past the star :D

braneof says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:01pm

Nice. I like the tension created by the visual vibration and the rising pitch.

Mythalore says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:42pm

What the hell just happened! Really weird but very interesting!

M0N0QUARTZ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:04pm

Epic and intense game! Great sounds.

CogComp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:06pm

Terribly loud, a bit too much for me actually... But definitely fitting the theme and innovative!

PTSnoop says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:09pm

On the first two levels, after a few seconds of reaction-time-testing, I managed to get into a rhythmic mindset where I could predict pretty much exactly when the changes were going to happen. Then the star happened. Well, so much for that approach then.

TobiasL says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:53pm

Really intense soundtrack :)

Loren says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:56am

I'm never starting my vacuum cleaner again. That being said, I thought this nailed the theme and was a great experience :)

Winterblood says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:36pm

Very clever idea, well executed. I fear I may have damaged my keyboard :)

Lafolie says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:22pm

Far too loud. Interesting idea though, amazing to see so many ways of having interaction on a single dimension this LD.

Almax27 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:18pm

Very intense, good use of image and sound, all round silly fun :D

tankete says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:20pm

Very original idea. Could use a bit less volume. Liked it!

thatwhichis says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:22pm

MAKE THE STATIC STOOOOOOOOOP great motivation :-)

Foxtacy says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:16am

Whoa!

Asides from almost getting deaf

This game is pure fun! :D

gl03 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:54pm

Nice, slightly reminding of Gauge though.

May 4, 2013 @ 11:45pm

LoL, i felt a little pressure, haha'. I liked.

dragonee says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:47pm

Wow, good! The best feeling is that when you subconsciously get into the rhythm and then you are off at some moment. The static gets you back from the trance into the reality. :D

euwaku says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 6:33am

I was surprisingly totally in synch with the game after a few sec. That was surprising. Brb, my ears are bleeding.

ataxkt says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 12:33pm

Nice! Reminds me of Gauge

jamioflan says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 11:34pm

I got to the X, which was just ridiculously hard...
Great game, I loved the build up in sound, and the way it feels natural for the first few. I feel you could have had more interesting audio though, and maybe something like a sound to reward you when you get it perfect?

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]