April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Circular Symphony

by cmjd - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A game focused on timing and precision.

Musical notes and drum sounds were created with LMMS and the zynaddsubFX plug-in. The game itself was created using Flash Develop, and the Haxe NME framework.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#153Theme4.00
#247Mood3.28
#256Audio3.21
#494Innovation3.19
#812Overall2.93
#874Fun2.64
#1108Graphics2.29
#1594Coolness37%

Comments

Fervir says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:40pm

I feel like you have a pretty cool game and can definitely expand upon this.
Perhaps make it so that the timing isn't as strict and have a greater emphasis on the sounds.

LrdKzrth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:45pm

A little tricky, but good execution

eedok says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:24am

Fun, relaxing. Could use a tracker for streaks, which is the funnest part. Great audio.

Alexander says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:25am

Sounds great when you get 2 or 3 in a row. I just wish it was easier to get those streaks, because sometimes it feels totally random!

William Bundy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:29am

An interesting interpretation of the theme.

cmjd says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:32am

Glad to hear that you enjoyed the game! I was hoping that changing the difficulty would be sufficient for changing the experience, but the timing is still fairly random, due to the random circle sizes. I might look at expanding on the idea and either find a way to make the randomness work to create an interesting experience, or just set each circle size individually and turn it into more of a rhythm/skill based game.

kannas says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:17pm

Hitting the tiniest circle is near to impossible xD anyway it's a nice game. i would have loved to hear more sounds (maybe unlocking some looping pattern). good work pal :D

jukimv1986 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:46pm

As some have said, it is a neat concept and a good execution, but you may want to expand it, maybe with other shapes associated with other sounds, possibly by giving it a rhythm and making it not as random. Another option could be increasing the difficulty over time. But anyway cool game and excellent interpretation on the theme.

zkenshin says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:04am

Nice calming game.

Jarrett says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:33am

I like it :)

ming_tea says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:13am

Oddly relaxing and fits the theme nicely.

Jonapulse says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:54am

Cool. I liked when I managed to get two circles without an off-beat. It'd be nice if that were more doable--I love in rhythm games when skill can let you actually play a song.

Nikteddy92 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:18am

Really nice.
I like it.

buuuuut... there is something I can't find that lacks from this...
Maybe... some score tracker or a bigger aim?

Still great. :D

fishbrain says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:26pm

nice original idea... needs further development...

Uhfgood says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:53pm

It's not technically a game, but more of a toy. Also I think you should start the player out rather easy... make the outline really thick and as he/she progresses make the ring thinner. Add some scoring, otherwise a fairly solid entry.

sudorossy says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:16pm

Spent a bit longer than I thought I should playing this :P

Maybe as a future idea have the beats timed to some background music? So you add to the music while playing.

cmjd says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:54pm

Thanks for your feedback everyone! While I was developing this game, I found that I rather liked the relaxing feel of the game, although I'll admit that the randomness of the game kind of threw this off a bit. I didn't want to add stuff tracking progress like scores or streak counters, as I felt that that might throw off the relaxing nature of the game. As it stands it was a bit more of a toy, but a fun one nonetheless. I could definitely turn this into a more polished and focused rhythm game in the future regardless :)

Kitch says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 4:07am

really reminded me I need a new mouse... :) It's a really neat concept... could be expanded out in a lot of different ways.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]