April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Free

by vladimirdlc - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Free is a sort of experimental artsy puzzle platformer, 3 levels long with a couple of secrets, you move only by shooting force spheres and entering in them. WASD is not enabled! Have fun.

To get to fullscreen in Web Player version press right click and "Go to Fullscreen" option, may not work with your resolution, better try the desktop version.

Pss... You can also cheat code using keys 'M' to speed up and 'N' slow down, but, be careful.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#444Innovation3.26
#711Audio2.44
#804Graphics2.71
#895Theme3.18
#899Humor1.79
#926Mood2.50
#1252Overall2.34
#1268Fun1.94

Comments

vladimirdlc says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:47am

This game is a sort of puzzle platformer, you move only by shooting force spheres and entering in them. WASD is not enabled. Have fun.

Test User says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:15am

Really hard to control in the web player cause my mouse goes off the screen and I can't click where I want to, but I love the idea of just being able to move yourself through explosions.

mortus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:34am

I liked that way of moving around. It's a little bit boring and not very fast (or I wasn't doing it right), but it's original.

gokuhd says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:29pm

It's a bit difficult to move but the game runs very good. Maybe it would be nice if you let the player move a bit faster,really nice :).

vladimirdlc says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:30pm

@mortus @gokuhd I liked the idea of making the player feel small against the world, exploration is harder but more rewarding if you're into metaphors and riddles.
Also is more fun when you find the canon speed modifiers in the last level. I listed them now on the description for hasty players.
The control decisions where hard to balance with the level design, as it is now you can even 'fly' with the base speed and the right clicks. Maybe with a little tweaks may come more user friendly and less mouse killer, but I am glad that you could enjoy it as it is now :)

aquilicoco says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:55pm

Yes, it's difficult to move

PyroSneak says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:27pm

Nice game. interesting mechanic, something molyneux would probably think of. very hard to control though (I used the web player) would be a good idea to lock the mouse to the screen next time though. audio was very nice aswell :). I found it hard though

graytest says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:52pm

Fun idea.. but didn't work so well, mostly because it becamse difficult to control when the mouse kept leaving the window when I was looking around.

McFunkypants says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:23pm

A very cool idea for movement that just needs more polish to bring it to the next level. Great work.

hgouveia says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:28pm

Very original, but hard to control

multitude says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:13am

The concept is cool. reminds me a bit of the "spawn ball" in unreal 2003 - these where the days. cool concept that needs a bit polishing to bring it alive. full points in innovation from me :)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:25am

Innovative but as others have mentioned the controls are an issue even besides the Web version.
Still gotta credit for a unique twist to such an overused idea,

Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:26am

Really neat concept! I'd love to play something like this with a little more polish than 48 hours would allow.

RARoadkill says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:26am

The world would be a more fun place if everyone got around with explosions. It is kind of hard to control though. maybe adding the ability to shoot behind you would help.

richtx says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:28am

The artistic feel is nice. A bit more in the game play area would have surely had me hooked in.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:28am

looked pretty cool and followed the theme well -- control system was very hard -- nice effort

tcstyle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:44am

Very difficult to control even though it's an interesting concept. Wasn't sure what to do. Liked the music.

Travis Irby says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:38am

Thanks for checking out my game and the comment! Really cool concept you have and I like the graphics. Nice work :)

alcazar says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:06pm

Nice Entry (but i had a little problem with controls)

MinionStudios says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:49pm

Nice work on this! the mechanics are challenging at first, but it becomes second nature. Great atmosphere!

vladimirdlc says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:44am

@NeverAutomatic I am actually considering elaborating this to be a more polished proof of concept or a full-fledged game :)

@RARoadkill "The world would be a more fun place if everyone got around with explosions" Indeed xD

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]