April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

DREAM

by BahamutZaero - Jam Entry

DREAM puts you in the mind of someone thinking through what they wanted to do with their life - their goals and aspirations. Navigate the dream city and collect enough dreams to complete the experience. Dream Eaters fly around and consume dreams, however they are only as dangerous as you let them be.

DREAM incorporates the theme of Minimalism in multiple ways:

1.) The concept of seeing the world in a simpler way.
2.) The art style of the gameplay portion.
3.) The gameplay interaction (the entire game is a single click to move and navigate).
4.) Minimalism of the mind, and feeling that all is lost.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#68Mood(Jam)3.68
#88Graphics(Jam)3.94
#106Theme(Jam)3.74
#195Innovation(Jam)3.22
#200Overall(Jam)3.32
#316Humor(Jam)1.96
#412Fun(Jam)2.51
#417Audio(Jam)2.00

Comments

Xellinus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:35pm

Very beautiful. Then depressing. Ouch =)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:22am

Short but amazing. Beautiful.

Nekoyoubi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:28am

Wow. I love what you were going for with the graphical style, and the simple play was nice as well. I even chuckled at the LD reference in the game itself. To be honest, though, I was a bit put off by the morose conclusion. Some techno-orchestral ambiance would have been epic as well. Well done overall!

Kitch says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:29am

the art style is fantastic, very fitting.

Topaz says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:33am

Graphics look nice.

BigBlackBeard says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:32am

Innovating game ! But to depressing for me.

But beatyful and good ;).

s0ulcrusher says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:40am

Cool effect on picking up those orbs, I like it.

LionelJitro says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:42am

Definitely took the theme to heart.

Quite mellow in a charming way.

Andrewves says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:15am

Great gameplay and art style, the particle effects were good too. The ending seems a bit off tho.

hellosimpson says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:20pm

Great, simple gameplay! I liked the ending and the deeper message.

Zer0Kelvin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:17pm

See all the cats! :D

Great stuff!

mkpictures says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:09pm

Sad it was so short :( The atmosphere is really beautiful, the graphics are nice :)

MinionStudios says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:08am

I liked it, but I keep picking up the dream eaters. Good game

Lev_Astov says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:17am

Uh, anyone else take this as a cry for help? Can we make sure the submitter is still with us? Based on this jam game, you clearly have great things in you dude, don't do it!

captainkraft says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:08am

The aesthetics are great and it short and sweet. Good stuff

BahamutZaero says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:24am

Lev_Astov: LOL! I'm fine, and not a cry for help. I just like creating alternate games when there isn't a profit margin on the line. :)

Per says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:08am

Wow, the ending was really something...
Very nice graphics.

olkeencole says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:00pm

Fun concept and cool visual style. The cube controlled well and was fun to move around. I wish the text would have stayed on the screen a bit longer though. This could have been a lot better with some audio (and it was already pretty good). Also, your ending conflicts with the message of following your dreams. I was on board with everything until that kind of came out of nowhere. Otherwise solid entry.

ddionisio says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:03pm

I hate to say this but, "See all the cats in the internet" is an impossible task.

Really symbolic game, I love it! The ending was a bit of a surprise though.

Good choice of color and nice particle effect, the landscape really felt dreamy.

If there is a music to accompany this game, it would maybe be something like Enya :P

villhest says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:58pm

woot!?

BahamutZaero says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:00pm

Thanks everyone for the great comments! I had this whole concept of audio and music I wanted to add to the game, but simply ran out of time to get it in there. (I ended up crunching the bulk of this on Sunday and wasn't able to touch it Monday at all). I've been chatting however with the audio developer of my company and he really wants to do a soundtrack for it. I think we'll see an improved / polished build of this game at some point, with a full soundtrack. :)

Komradus says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:54am

Well that escalated quickly. Good message being sent.
I particularly like the effects from the dream eaters, looks nice.

nancylewis944 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:18am

I can hear some new age music for this, or Native American Music. Graphics are mesmerizing, I liked this alot, though I am would need alot more time to play to do anything.. that said.. awesome, graphics, theme , Profound game..

thephantom says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:46am

amazing game , loved the graphics and idea althougth i hope you have made more goals

AaronYip says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:06am

I would definitely look forward to the polished version, as I'm liking this quite a bit. (: I think a more hand-written font (like a letter) could really add a lot to the mood. But regardless, great job!

May 4, 2013 @ 7:34am

Excellent concept that's both deep and yet not entirely vague. Had a proper dreamy touch to it as well. Loved it!

Bloated Hippo says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:15pm

Wonderful.

Travis Irby says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 8:22pm

Woe intense ending! Really nice graphics, and premise nice work :)

May 17, 2013 @ 8:11pm

It fits the theme really well and has a good look and feel to it.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]