April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

OneEighty

by Mekuri - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This game requires the .NET 4.0 and the XNA 4.0 framework.

This is my very first Ludum Dare. The theme "Minimalism" wasn't really my thing- But I believe that's the whole point of the dare- To be challenged to think out of the box. I ended up with a small game with simple graphics.
The game is more or less finished, I've tested the game on a few systems, including some older ones, and they work fine- Only problem I have is some jitters when hitting low ceilings, that I didn't manage to fix.

The Source code is available but it is rather rubbish. I didn't spend much time trying to keep any structure in it.

I've made sure all the levels in the game are beatable, and I have personally completed the game multiple times. I hope you enjoy my very first Ludum Dare Entry.

Thanks.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#338Humor2.58
#643Fun2.89
#825Overall2.92
#993Audio1.82
#1013Theme3.03
#1036Mood2.36
#1103Innovation2.27
#1232Graphics2.08

Comments

DreamThorn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:11am

It says "Application failed to initialize properly."

GetFun says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:14am

It plays well. great! =)

texel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:15am

The "You did it" sound effect really grates on my ears. The rest of the game is quite fun -- reminds me of a cross between the impossible game and N+. Rotation mechanic is interesting.

The physics engine used has an odd timing bug when you respawn -- it effectively allows you to gain speed at the expense of losing height.

johnste says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:31am

If the game doesn't work, try installing the XNA Framework Redistributable linked. I had to.

Nice little game, certainly feels like I've played similar games before though. The death messages were fun and added to the experience.

The collision detection for the spikes could be a tad more forgiving, but I guess you know that.

kyyninen says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:02am

I literally laughed out loud on couple of death messages... at least the first time I saw them. Collision detection on spikes really bummed me out. I disabled the audio pretty quickly.

...wow, that sounds so negative. I liked the game and had fun playing it! Concept is brilliant and I'd love to see updates on this.

CMaster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:59am

Bwip-bwip-bwip-bwip

ella guro says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:08am

very cute! kind of feels like a homemade version of N or Jumpman or one of those games. my favorite part was the death messages. the spikes were sometimes a bit hard to get past

lytedev says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:49pm

Winning sound effect is obnoxious. Controls are painfully painful (and you know it!) and the death messages are great. And those terrible spikes are certainly squares. XD

minibutmany says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:51pm

Lots of fun, good level planning and it had a good mix of difficult but not impossible. The graphics are a little glitchy after the 180 spin, the ball jitters when he hits the ceiling.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:35pm

I felt the spike hitbox was a bit too big for the spike, and more of a square than a triangle. The audio for completing a level was rather irritatingly high-pitched, and the bouncing sound got repetitive to the point it got annoying. Still though, I did like how the ball controlled, and it had the right level of bounciness and floatiness.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:14pm

This is really cute :)
I like that the spikes are green for some reason.

Cosine says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:31pm

I like this game. I like the dynamic death messages and the gameplay is excellent. Actually, with a theme like minimalism I really expected a lot more games to turn out like this, with a simple but fun framework with a lot of playtime. It didn't end up being that way for most that I've seen.

Salamander3 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:37pm

Not a bad first submission, though the audio was a bit grating, especially the end level noises. Also, the collision detection on the spikes was rather harsh if you're forced to jump the entire time. But otherwise, a nice little platformer.

GranaDa says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:35pm

Loved the levels and the "180" concept. Good entry!

netmute says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:36pm

I'm on a Mac, sorry :(

TehSkull says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 6:54am

Audio: 1/5 EARPIERCING

TenTonToon says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 6:03am

Good first entry, with some nice ideas and quite fitting of the theme, both in terms of mechanics and presentation.
I agree the audio is hit or miss, but the fact there's audio at all is a winner to me - LD games not including audio at all is almost a staple of this compo.

Congratulations on your first of hopefully many LD games to come! :)

Mekuri says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 10:17am

Thanks a lot for all your feedback people! A lot of you mentioned that the sound is rather harsh on the ears, and I agree that the "win" sound is.. very bad. My reason for using simple sounds though, was to fit it to the theme, and I didn't want the theme to be an excuse to not add sound. I am very happy for the feedback, and I am glad that so many of you liked the game.

PaulSB says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 12:40pm

This is pretty neat! Like the mechanics but it can get a bit frustrating - I wished hitting the switch was a checkpoint, and the spike collisions were very unforgiving. It's nice that the gameplay only requires 2 keys!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]