April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Enneadeca

by Rongon - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Light up the world by passing all its points without hitting death ( red circles ).
By passing already lit point, you put it out.
Movement is 6-way directions:
Q W E
\ | /
/ | \
A S D
Power is SPACE, in which that point can not be put out.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#249Theme3.88
#326Innovation3.42
#346Audio3.05
#431Mood3.06
#437Overall3.28
#657Fun2.87
#830Graphics2.68
#1503Coolness41%

Comments

Perry says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 3:47pm

Controls are hard to get a hang of, but once I got the hang of them I found I was playing longer than I expected.

Zccc says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 4:00pm

Nice ideia! And super fun, it's like Pacman meet Escher :P I completed it without using the light power, and only then I knew what that was for!

jijaweb says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 7:39pm

HARD! But really really fun. Great work.

Rongon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:17am

Thanks for feedback! :)
Navigating through real life is also hard. But, when you get used to it, you avoid your disasters better. There is always a light on the end of the tunnel.
As in real life, disasters are random. Changing its directions constantly, sometimes to better, sometimes to worse. So you must think before you act in order to avoid disasters.
Even going back is not that bad, as long as there is light around you, as in real life.
What will happen, it's all up to you.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:31am

Wow.. great idea! :O

fullmontis says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:44pm

Really fun for such a simple mechanic. Also very hard! And the minimalistic graphics are actually very easy on the eyes.

TheSarcastic says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:44pm

I liked it but it is pretty hard!

Zener says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:46pm

Very good idea but the controls are too hard to learn. After that I had fun playing.

Typedeaf says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:47pm

Fun mechanics, roving red dots make it more pacman than puzzle. Don't know if the light ability was necessary :)

Foxtacy says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:28am

Very nice approach to the theme! Kinda reminds me of QBert. Very well polished too :)

Khaldrin says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:19pm

Getting into the controls is pretty difficult. But after you managed to do so, it is a fun little game. Liked the - minimalistic - music.

fysx says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:30pm

Great game in many aspects, but *way* too hard*!

(* Yes, real life can be tough, but therefore I want to enjoy a game. I love hard games (played through bit.trip runner 1 and super meat boy), but the beginning could be smoother in my opinion.)

mildmojo says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:29pm

Wow, really hard. I wanted the controls to be QWE/ZXC so it would feel more like a box with corners. =/

You've got a bug in your keyboard handler: you need to call event.preventDefault() and event.stopPropagation() inside your keydown/keypress callback to keep those events from bubbling up to the browser. The first time I tried to move, the keypress popped open my browser's typeahead find feature which soaked up all further keypresses and took focus away from the game.

Excellent concept. You could probably scale the difficulty by varying the number and speed of the enemies. The hardest part of these puzzles on paper is not retracing your steps, so the permapower was a nice addition.

Prudiiarca says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:35pm

Nice game. Similar to Pacman, but more minimalistic and other gameplay cause of more directions to move. Great job!

SmilingCat says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 10:40pm

Interesting concept. Might be easier if I spent some time with the six-way controls.

Norritt42 says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 9:28pm

I liked it! The only frustrating thing is all the times you press a key and then realize that you will lose and can do nothing about it. To be able to return would have added to good feeling I have for this game:)

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 4:08pm

Interesting. First few times I was like "ehh", then I was like "huh...okay, cool".

alts says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 6:49am

Interesting game. Best I've done is 18/19 lit. I feel like there are two distinct games in here, and they combine strangely. At first it's unclear whether the goal is to survive longer, or to light the world. I feel like both sides can be developed further in isolation, but when merged, certain attributes can never be explored.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]