April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Life

by caporaltito - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is life.
Move your mouse to left and right in order to influence its path.
Things happen, you meet people and eventually you die.

I submitted the game unfinished. I aimed too high.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#274Innovation3.48
#810Theme3.28
#852Mood2.59
#983Graphics2.48
#1226Overall2.40
#1290Fun1.84
#1619Coolness36%

Comments

Hyaku says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:24pm

Really nice concept.

Hope you think about making a post-LD version with sound and a bit more polished.

Btw, i had to ALT-TAB to get the control of my cursor after playing the game.

caporaltito says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:24am

Thnak you Hyaku.

Diventurer says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:50am

Uhm, sorry but I did not like the game that much. I mean, it is a nice concept - but you honestly didn't polish it well enough. It is kind of dull to move around a square and collide it with life events and you just die and get a list of stuff that you did... I mean, it's not fun to get assaulted y'know? xD
O'well. What I'm trying to say is that it's a nice concept, but you should have polished it more and made it more fun. I'll give you some ++ for innovation and theme though.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:52am

Very innovating, a bit buggy, hard to exit too. But i would like to see more of this !

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:35am

Really interesting to play, but I found the steering really difficult and my character seemed to jump many squares at once some times.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:47am

It was too laggy for me, almost unplayable :/
I like the idea, I just think it might have needed a bit more time to develop itself. (;

timtipgames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:00am

Would love to see a more polished version of this!

Hadyn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:40am

Seems like an interesting idea, but it ran really poorly for me so I haven't rated it.

Tater_hater says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:32am

Great idea, i im very intrigued by this game. Let me know if you ever finish it

MaxSzlagor says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:55am

Interesting take on the Life game. Like others, the I feel like the biggest downer is the speed, but it was fun to check out. Thanks for sharing!

Uhfgood says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:17am

Took a long time to load, couldn't alt-tab out, had to actually hit the windows button, was too slow for me to get it.

metalcan says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:08pm

Really cool idea, just needs to be developed a little more. I studied a lot, got sick and died. The world is cruel. Love the concept.

visibleatom says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:48pm

I liked the concept, but what I could do seemed also to be a bit confusing. I was trying to 'collide' with other lives/people to see how we would interact, but apparently that's not possible. Also, sometimes I would grow so faint that I just lost myself and had no idea even what square I was (even with the arrow). I'd love to see a v1.1 (with perhaps an ESC key for easy exit)

Ariake81 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:51pm

Visually and conceptually interesting and really fits the breif. Lag on controls and text feedback make it very difficult to play but deserves further development time. You also can't exit the game, kinda fits with the theme though!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]