April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

I'm Not a Paper Person!

by Linus Lindberg - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In this simple puzzle platformer you use the mouse to place items on the on the screen to help the paper person get to the star on each level.

The minimalism lies in the one-button controls and the visual style.

Controls:

Left Click - pick up/place item
R - Restart level

You cannot control the paper person. He will walk in one direction until he hits a wall and then he will walk the other way. When rotated he will keep his walking direction, not as you see it, but from his point of view.

I hope you enjoy it!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#332Fun3.23
#352Graphics3.33
#375Overall3.35
#452Humor2.39
#494Innovation3.19
#545Theme3.55
#696Mood2.74
#748Audio2.38

Comments

zanzindorf says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 11:10pm

Nice. I liked the puzzles. They had a good learning curve.

Kiwiboi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:35am

Cute and interesting game! I liked the sounds haha.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:03am

Thanks guys! :)
Updated, Now it runs on mac!

guestcheap says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:23am

Love the art style. Game mechanic is well-implemented too.

Mekuri says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:45am

Very good game. I even managed to beat it :-) It was very fun, and I would definitely play this game if more levels were added. Very good job!

JaJ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:28am

I wouldn't really count mouse controls as "one button" since you have full use of the x and y axis,but it was a really fun and clever game.

Tahooey says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:29am

Nice game, funny sounds :)

Gustera says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:30am

I need a button to restart level !

Sebastian says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:31am

Cool puzzles, graphics are pretty neat too!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:33am

I quite liked it it invoked thought.

Idovoodoo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:34am

I like the paper artwork!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:37am

Thanks guys!

@Gustera: You can restart the level by pressing "R".. I wrote the in the description but I didn't have time to write it in the actual game... sorry about that!

kurrik says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:41am

Some of the puzzles seemed a bit speed-focused (difficult on a trackpad) but I enjoyed figuring out the tricky ones! Nice work!

martijn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:46am

The fact that you sometimes have to react fast at the start is somewhat annoying

rockford says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:46am

Quite fun, well done, very playable, however repetitive.

Xgor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:16am

Pretty nice, would be nice if you had a bit animation and the collisions would be better but otherwise it looked good.
Needs a restart button, I got stuck in a loop on one level and had to close the game. :(

Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:54am

To restart press "R"

I really should've written that somewhere in the game XD

donan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:22am

Wow, really nice puzzles game. Like the drawn style and the gameplay.

Corofides says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:28am

I really loved the art of this game I must admit. Something about the crudely shaded squares, just, yes. The game was pretty fun too with some nice puzzles.

Jod says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:34am

LOVED this. I am impressed with how well this fits the theme. The simple gameplay is pretty addictive (I got stuck around level 7 ><). Colour me impressed!

Hah, get it. Colour? Because it's in black and white.

...

I'll get my coat.

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:00pm

I loved this game!! :)

enzo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:29pm

if I had one word to describe this game, it would be 'crisp', from the textured backgrounds to the puzzles to the nice crunch when you put down an item

hgouveia says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:42pm

Love the art , very good game

maloki says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:19am

Love the art. :D The puzzles got sneakier later on, but the earlier levels prepared me for it. Nice work on puzzle design!

At first reminded me of VVVVVV, and then suddenly it was not just up and down but left and right.

Just when I was having fun, it ended. :(

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:36am

Despite the lack of animation, it's a pretty game with solid gameplay :)

Ysty says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:44pm

Very nice concept, and the puzzles are really well designed.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:56pm

Thank you guys so much for all the nice comments :)

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:07pm

Nice! Liked the mechanics and the sound effects. One puzzle took me a little bit but it was interesting to play. Nice one!

fr_automatik says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:09pm

That game feel unpolished, it could profit from some animation of the character.
Good idea.

May 5, 2013 @ 3:50am

Heh, this is in the same spirit as our game eraserland but backwards! awesome!

Milo says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:50pm

This is a pretty interesting puzzle. I got stuck on one level fairly far in, but until then, the difficulty seemed to increase nicely (although a lot of this increase was in time pressure more than intrinsically more difficult puzzles). I agree that animation would help this - if only because the arrows, as they are now, are kind of confusing since I usually think in terms of flips rather than rotations. I do like the graphics here though - it's got a nice aesthetic, and the audio helps reinforce that.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]