April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

OggOrbis

by Michael Hall - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Click on the light circle.

note: Downloadable version runs much smoother than the applet.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#168Audio3.38
#256Innovation3.51
#299Theme3.81
#342Mood3.16
#397Graphics3.26
#509Overall3.21
#538Fun3.00
#714Humor2.00

Comments

tonic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:34pm

I don't quite get it, to be honest. I kept clicking the upper left circle, then somehow got to another level I think... but still couldn't quite grasp how I'm supposed to control it or something, moving pointer around or click, or is the circle clicking just the only thing I can do, and how can I perhaps click it better?

Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:44pm

I really, really like this. Nice name too :)

Logun says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:59pm

Easy to understand, and nice realisation. Sadly, it is more about luck and multiple retry than skill. I finished it with pleasure !

Michael Hall says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:26pm

Alright, I guess I didn't really explain it well, but the point is to get one of the little black circles to go into the dark circle. You really don't have much control over it to be honest, but the circle will shoot out from wherever you click in the light circle.

tcstyle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:51pm

I love experimental simulation games like this one. Even if it is quite a lot trial and error in some of the levels. The background track totally fits the game. Almost gave up in level 8. Played all 12 levels.

glbs says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:03pm

Your game has a really good atmosphere, with its music and the beautiful graphics, but it lacks a bit of gameplay to be much better. Nice work anyway

Holofire says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:03pm

Great game. I played to the end. Got quite challenging and found it quite hard to find the right spot. Nice work.

Moist says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:07pm

I like the idea, but I think you should give the player more control over how the balls are generated. Right now beating a level is all about clicking randomly on the circle until we hit the right spot.
Apart from this, the graphics are very cool!

Erifdex says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:32pm

Really nice game. The last level seemed overly hard in my opinion - but that meant beating it was much more enjoyable!

kewry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:11pm

Nice concept but really hard game

PTSnoop says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:20pm

The gameplay felt like more trial-and-error than skill, but the graphics and music gave it a good relaxing atmosphere. I'd have liked to have seen the credits for longer - did I see "Velociraptor Control" on the list?

Michael Hall says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:38pm

http://www.mhroot.com/applets/LudumDare26/res/credits/credits.txt

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:07pm

Really nice work that fits the theme well. Nice level progression, I got to level 11 before I threw in the towel. You should try doing some things to help the player. For example showing trails from the balls would make it easier to judge how they traveled. Also showing the previous place the player touched and leaving the previous trajectories up would greatly help reduce trial and error and allow you to make the levels even more challenging.

Meep says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:08pm

Despite success being somewhat random, it was fun to watch and hope to complete the level. It fits the theme very well too. :) Good work!

ToastyAbraham says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:14pm

Good game but often left I was achieving the goal through luck rather than skill

dick_claus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:24pm

Very similar to game we made. But I like randomness.

ataxkt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:53pm

Feeling the lack of control mentioned by others. Good fun though, and the mood is really great.

lightsoda says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:54pm

Very nice mood to this, the combination of the colors and music is really soothing.

It's more of a fun toy though, gameplay is too dependent on random chance, IMO.

HeyChinaski says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:20pm

At first it just felt like a matter of luck but when I realised that each click was repeatable and deterministic(?) I realised that there was some minimalistic skill to the game. The game had a nice, consistent visual aesthetic too. Great work.

Celticraft49 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:03am

This is a really cool concept. I enjoyed it a lot. I even showed it to a few people I know.

steqheu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:43am

Hey all, I'm the guy in the credits for "Came up with the idea." Have to say, it's awesome to have someone as talented as my brother that can bring your concepts to life. I had a full-length iOS game that was going to be much deeper in content, but I'm not the one with a programming talent. Proud of this dude and his first Ludum Dare. He'll go far!

meat_popsicle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:49am

I like it, but it's a little hard to predict how to win a given level

Elemnir says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:41pm

I liked the game. Gameplay was a bit too hands off for my taste, but it definitely fit with the theme. The music was very appropriate, and was one of the few where I didn't want to turn off my speakers. And of course, it wouldn't be complete without the potato. Have to say, I wasn't expecting that.

martijn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:10pm

Interesting mechanic

multitude says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:13pm

cute little puzzle game. i enjoyed playing it. would love to have some more visual feedback and soundFX maybe :)

WiseGAMER says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:57pm

great game starting from the point when I figured out that relative to th location on where you click on the white circle the balls well have different motion , good work :)

Jellycakes says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:09am

Cool relaxing fun little game. Really simple mechanic that sucks you in and keeps you playing. Too short though, would like to see more!

May 6, 2013 @ 8:05am

Excellent game, would love to see it expanded with more reactive audio & effects.

dremelofdeath says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 10:17am

I haven't been able to run this... The web player doesn't work and I get "Unable to find the main class: Runner."

Norgg says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 10:18am

This gets frustrating pretty quickly with the difficulty of levels being fairly high and the control being extremely luck based. If there was just a single projectile which you had more control over it'd be more interesting to me.

numpad says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 9:14pm

Great game!
Took me some time to completely understand the mechanics.
You perfectly did the theme and graphics and the level design was good!

matheod says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 1:46am

Yeah, really good game. I finish the 12 level, so funny to get troll by ball who stop on the border of the circle :D

Spiridios says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 2:21am

Very deceptively simple gameplay. Some levels were a lot about just randomly clicking until you found the magic spot, which felt more like playing the slots. Great music.

mildmojo says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 3:26pm

Cool mechanic. Quite a lot of ways those balls could bounce depending on slight variations in starting position. I'm glad you introduced a lot of different wall behaviors to keep things interesting.

You had a pretty dense credits screen with an autoadvance timeout; I would've liked it to wait for a click so I had time to read everything. It also seemed like the framerate could've been improved (downloaded for Linux). The game got much smoother when there were maybe 4 or 5 balls remaining, and I've got a modern system.

pjchardt says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 10:44pm

Great atmosphere established by the music, visuals and timing. However, I felt the interactivity was a bit lacking in that I never believed I was in enough control. I figured out fairly quickly how to play, but on several stages luck seemed to be my victory condition which made the experience for me a bit random.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]