April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Flight Time

by Lerc - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Check out that screenshot for minimalism!

There Are 20 levels. Seems to take people about 30-60 minutes to play the game through.

Figure things out as you go.

Quick and dirty Android build at

http://fingswotidun.com/ld26/LudumDare26-debug.apk

Quite fun on a 10inch tablet. You'll need dainty hands if you want to play it on a phone.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#53Theme4.22
#104Innovation3.81
#136Fun3.56
#152Overall3.67
#819Humor1.88
#926Mood2.50
#1002Graphics2.45

Comments

Idovoodoo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:10am

Took a moment to work out what to do but cool idea, well done.

rejooh says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:14am

My absolute favorite so far. I could play that game for hours. The slow addition and combination of the various objects really keeps the game exciting.

Sestren says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:22am

A lot of fun to play through the first several levels, although the trial and error nature of it does get a bit frustrating once the levels become a bit more complex. Good entry!

Kimau says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:58pm

Love the idea and the mechanic is simple. The ghost of previous flights is a huge help.

unclejunkie says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:41pm

The game is insanely hard yet addictive! Loved it.

kochb says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:18pm

Hard and not that fun. The game play is very repetitive and there were no directions. It took me forever to figure out that I didn't have to start in the middle.

SpaceStudios says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:25pm

We really enjoyed your game as well! I love the core-mechanic!!!!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:20am

Could use a bit of instruction at the start, but overall a whole lot of fun packed into a very simple mechanic. The "previous markers" were a brilliant, and crucial, feature.

Zillix says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:07am

loved the title-as-instructions. well done.

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:34am

Quite an interesting idea! Couldn't really work out the two planet level, but I think something along the lines of a figure 8 is what I need?

Skywilly says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:41pm

Excellent concept ! Very addictive :)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:59pm

Interesting gravity physics, and a fairly tough cookie. Does it's job, and can be fairly addicting. However, it also was a bit frustrating at times and feels it might do nice with some music or spice (though guess that is a plus on the minimalism).

GranaDa says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:38pm

Damn good! Really nice idea.

Jhelle says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:20pm

Cool idea, some levels got really tense :)

Alucard J says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:15am

Very simple and innovative game. Had a lot of fun playing around with velocity and gravitational pull. Well Done =]

FREEZX says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:32am

Spent some time on this one. Not even sorry! Awesome game!

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:33am

Reminds me of osmos. very nice.

Jerm says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:23am

Played for a while and it was quite fun. Although some levels were a bit annoying because it seemed the only way to complete them was to just randomly try different things and see if it worked. I gave up on the level with all the small red circles and two grey circles.

May 6, 2013 @ 8:00am

This is good. Better on touch. Great work.

Qaterknan says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 11:38am

Awesome, I just loved it. However I got stuck in that level with only one antitractor on the left.

Andy West says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 4:48am

Very addictive and fun!

ethankennerly says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 5:19am

Plotting the trajectory fascinated me. If you continue to develop this, it took me several attempts to recognize that the disk represented the start point and the line represented the initial velocity; have you considered rendering the line of the initial velocity while the mouse button is down? Or some other method of hinting at what the input conventions are?

May 9, 2013 @ 6:16am

Nice! Reminds me of an old game I used to play called Planetary Golf (?)

euwaku says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 6:46am

Ultra simplistic, ultra addictive, ultra theme adequate.

EggDestroyer says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 8:36am

I think you put the "minimalism" part too far tho, as you could use some basic indication, something saying which level you are doing, more meaningful feedback on how you grab & launch the ball and so on. The game wouldn't have been less "minimal" IMHO :)
But the concept is neat and the progression is well done, though it seems a bit random sometimes. Good work !

galman says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 9:49am

Nice physics puzzler! Well done :)

kill0u says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 11:05am

Excellent!

stqn says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 4:45pm

Great but level 3 (red circle in the corner) was a bit too hard and the level with the 8 green circles way too hard. Well, I tried like 20 times, that's enough...

stqn says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 4:46pm

Oh and instructions would have helped.

Jeremias says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 9:02am

Nice puzzle game and interesting concept. Was fun to play through the levels.

Sylvain.p says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 4:44am

The first time I haven't understand, then I have read comment and retry, and finaly (I have understand) the idea is really good.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]