April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Triple Minimum

by Finnegan2100 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

UPDATE: Just wanted to point out that the black + white scenes with the trees and such are NOT part of the three games. There are three individual games (colorful sections) to play. In the final game you are a potato with legs.

Instructions will be displayed during gameplay. Click the outline to begin.
This is a three-in-one game. I (@benwhi) did the music, art + code for this one. It was written in raw As3.

Hope you enjoy!
B.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#459Audio2.86
#519Humor2.26
#696Mood2.74
#758Graphics2.76
#904Innovation2.65
#1063Theme2.95
#1120Overall2.58
#1238Fun2.00

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:57am

I'm not sure I get having three games in one and how it fits into the theme. Collision was kind of wonky on the second game. it was pretty frustrating to get all the way to it and then lose in half a second and not know why. I figured it out after a few tries. I wish you had stuck with the first game more. It felt like it had more potential.

Nonameghost says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:00am

Nice work Ben! Definitely minimal. That first switch caught me off guard haha.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:05am

Jarring... can't say I enjoyed it.

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:34am

I already had a headache. The switch between the first two games...made it more so. The aesthetic of the first was appreciated however.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:42am

Very good use of theme - first game that I've seen that takes more inspiration from the music movement of minimalism rather than the visual art movement.

Scott McBee says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:52am

The first game often started you in a no-win situation. Combined with the jarring transition and the slow menu to get back to it, made it very frustrating. It's generally better to stick with one game and flesh it out than to split time between three and a menu.

kewry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:31pm

I did not like this due to it's repetitiveness in that weird menu

Mythalore says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:46pm

Interesting, a nice mixture of game types. Good job.

Sayaer says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:45pm

I had some difficulty getting going, but once i figured out the first few steps i figured it out. I enjoyed the switch and the quick reaction time needed.

KunoNoOni says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:56pm

Nice use of Theme. I liked the music. The quick transitions kept me on my toes, over all I'd said a job well done for a game made in 48 hours :)

Jan Marcano says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:39am

This one was weird, the transition between games with the trees makes it kind of bothersome to restart once you lost.

Really liked that part, however, there is a really abrupt change in the mood of the game when the real games start.

fullmontis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:01am

Great music, especially the one of the cube game. Not sure about the gameplay actually. I think that expanding the first segment alone would have been best. The three games together feel very incoerent.

Folis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:59am

It was a nice (three) game(s)! I didn't even mind the menu, because I enjoyed the music of it so much. Reminded me of the old Gameboy Color. The games were rather hard, though. ;)

captainkraft says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:42pm

Not too bad. I like the beginning the most. Cool effects

Travis Irby says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:11am

I liked the overall creepy mood you captured nice job!

May 1, 2013 @ 6:03am

Second minigame was a bit of a middle finger & I didn't "get" the transitions. Solid effort.

nddrylliog says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:34pm

Quite minimal, my dear 1GAM partner in crime :)

I suppose that means you're really busy working on our RPG. Does it? DOES IT? I hope so.

May 2, 2013 @ 12:16pm

Good music and good game, i like it

@SamPotasz says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:04pm

I REALLY really liked the first chapter. Great mood and feel. Really nicely done there. The transition to the second was almost impossible to stay alive through, and I wish I could've stayed on that chapter w/out being sent back to the beginning.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]