April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Million Dollar Manbaby

by Lianne Booton - Jam Entry

CONTROLS (partially in-game):

Character controls:

Arrow keys/WASD to move
Left click to attack:
[Attack + no movement = Heavy]
[Attack + movement = Light]
[Attack + jump = Jump attack]

Customisation controls:

Left click to pick up limb (has a stat icon above it)
Left click on player to stick limb to player

Miscellaneous:

+/- to increase or decrease sound volume

--

You are a prisoner stuck in a "private" basement, captured by a lonely nerd going by the pseudonym "King". However, you are not one to stay put. Fight your way through hordes of enemies, gruesomely sticking their limbs to yourself as you go!

--

This is a game that Lianne Booton of Team Sadbrains and Pixelbear put together in 2 and a half days. Pixelbear did the programming, I did the art!
We took the theme in a slightly different route to most people - instead of having the graphics minimalist, we decided upon reducing some of our favourite things about other games into their core elements - such as simple fighting mechanics, basic character customisation and a little bit of stat building. We hope you have fun, and thanks for playing! :D

--

Credits
--------
Programming - George 'Pixelbear' Baron
Art - Lianne Booton

Music -

Ove Melaa - Heaven Sings (Omsofware@hotmail.com)
Zander Noriega - The Wreck @codingobviously

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#14Humor(Jam)3.89
#34Graphics(Jam)4.32
#54Fun(Jam)3.60
#56Overall(Jam)3.74
#155Audio(Jam)3.32
#163Mood(Jam)3.31
#218Innovation(Jam)3.16
#559Theme(Jam)1.95

Comments

psychomonster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:17pm

hehe nice idea to plug stuff to the players body :D

gilmore606 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:18pm

WOW! That is a LOT of really nice quality content for a 48 hour game. And fun! And the stick-parts-to-yourself mechanic is creepy cool. Fantastic work.

LionelJitro says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:19pm

Really fun little game.

Love the mood of it and the mechanic of attaching parts to your body.

Loren says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:22pm

crazy fun, great audio and design :)

protensity says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:24pm

Excellent little game - I like the upgrade idea.

LZAntal says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:24pm

Wow very nice detailed graphics, some places overly detailed lol. Great job!!

Thickshake says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:26pm

Super awesome game, and extremely good art :)

theomnis says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:28pm

Best title screen of the compo :)

ataxkt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:36pm

Doesn't feel very minimal, even after reading your explaination, but it makes up for it in fun!

McFunkypants says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:38pm

Awesome work! I really love the "stick limbs to yourself" mechanic. Not "minimalism" themed in the slightest, but damn good game and that's what counts. Original! Fun! Great art!

ilo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:16pm

Wow. :D

Amazing art, and solid, fun mechanics. I enjoyed it a lot. Thank you!

Richard Matey says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:18pm

Haha love the wacky nature of this game. Fun challenge and liked the attaching of severed limbs onto my man baby even if it hindered the play.

bleatingheart says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:42pm

I'll agree that it doesn't feel very minimalistic, but the upgrading mechanics and the tongue-in-cheek humour of it are outstanding.

Sayaer says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:14am

Oh man this blew me away, as always great art, and the game-play was certainly unique!

saampahlavan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:34am

This is pretty rad

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:35am

Well done. I loved the mechanic of sticking severed limbs to my character.

jerombd says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:59am

Really awesome graphics!!
The gameplay is classic but still fun.

Jan Marcano says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:01am

Does it really end? D: Awesome work anyways!

tony.pe says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:05am

Aaaaaaaa this is awesome

Lianne Booton says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:09am

Yes there is a last boss and an ending, however it's a bit difficult. The end boss is definitely worth it though. Thank you all for the lovely comments :)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:03am

limb/head/wing/etc part collecting was far too funny and awesome and genius! Had lots of fun with it :D

Husky says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:34am

Pretty fun to enhance by enhance from enemy's corpse :D
Good job!

dremelofdeath says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:04am

I really like the idea of attaching body parts to make yourself stronger. Very gruesome and great mood. The graphics are really, really good.

Markusn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:15am

excellent work! love the art style!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:29am

Definitely a fun entry, though it's a bit difficult to play with a trackpad. Some days I miss the mouse.

From a gameplay perspective, I liked collecting the body parts and sticking them to my character but I wasn't sure how it really was intended to give him power-ups. It was *useful* that time slowed down when an item was stuck to my cursor, but I really felt like I wanted to still be able to attack while I was trying to get an item. Because the "sticking" mechanic feels very exacting, it was a bit difficult to actually get those parts on!

Not really minimalist, but you probably knew that. :)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:42am

That is an impressive game to build (particularly the art) in 48/72 hours and the mechanics are quite cool too.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:11am

It's incredibly fun ! I wonder how you got the name of your game ... :) good job !

Lianne Booton says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:26am

The title is a reference to: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0405159/?ref_=sr_2 :)

Also re: Minimalism -
The thing is this was my very first Ludum Dare, and as an artist I was really kinda disappointed that minimalism was put out to be my first theme to tackle. I felt it would be a waste of my ability if I went the route of squares and simple shapes, so we tried to go a different route so that I could still have fun creating something. George is a Flash programmer, so we couldn't do something with 3D space, it had to be 2D and striking.

Personally I think the gameplay mechanics are still quite minimal, basically attacking and customising is carried out via one click, and the game takes place in one area. Perhaps the window dressing of the game makes it appear a lot more complex than it is? In reality it was a very quick project and we finished quite ahead of schedule :)

Bloated Hippo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:31am

Fantastic! It encapsulates the BDSM and slave vibe very well. I would know.

Lianne Booton says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:27am

hahahhhaha <3 ^^^

Pixelbear says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:30pm

I'm glad everyone's enjoying the game! I'll have a timelapse of my weekend done soon. :)

NuSan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:30pm

Really fun, and "cute gore". It's a bit hard to add part to your body during the fight, but it make it more tense.

Oye Beto says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:46am

I enjoyed playing it. It's very polished and fun.

- The music is good but the audio quality is too low.
- I like the cartoon style. Looks like a mix of Mucha lucha and Binding of Isaac xD
- I also liked attaching limbs to my character.
- No minimalism at all.
- The nearest layer on the parallax interferes too much at the right side of the screen.
- Damn Sully! he keeps killing me! (I know it's not Sully)

Travis Irby says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:30am

Love the art and ideas you come up with here! Very well realized for 48 hrs of work

captainkraft says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:17am

Hahahaha, that might be the funniest game yet. Creepy... but funny

Pixelbear says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:23am

@Oye Beto - About the music. I unfortunately had to compress it down, as it took the game file above 10MB, and most Flash hosts don't like games above that limit. :)

Shugor says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:55am

Very nice game! Love the body parts mechanism, can't have too many heads :D

Jyrkface says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:49am

Game mechanic is super original and awesome, and keeps the game interesting even though the combat can get a bit repetitive. Art is fantastic, especially considering the time limitations. Very polished entry!

Uhfgood says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:53pm

Well that was kind of gross and weird.

StMatn says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:02pm

Wow, nice entry. The graphics are really great and the music is nice too. I like the attachment-mechanic^^ Great game!

MegaBrutal says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:42am

Really nice game! Good idea, amazing graphics, and it really has a mood. I especially liked the background - pony, catwoman, LOL. Who was Felicia?

I couldn't beat the blue koala boss thingie - would require more trying.

The only problem with this game is that it isn't minimalist at all - I did read how you interpreted minimalism for your entry, but... come on! :D

This is the first game where I could rate in all categories - no "n/a". :)

Overall: 5; Innovation: 3; Fun: 4; Theme: 1; Graphics: 5; Audio: 5; Humor: 5; Mood: 5.

Jellycakes says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:03pm

That was amazing. Really nice mechanic and hilarious to just stack heads on top of yourself. Really well made nice job!

MinionStudios says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:19am

what did I just play? WHAT WAS THAT THING? aaaaaaahhh I love IT

tankete says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 3:10am

Great looking game! Unique mechanic. Fun!

May 12, 2013 @ 12:24pm

Super awesome graphics. Also <3 AJ

kidevil says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 12:52am

Ah! Loved sticking the scraps to the manbaby:)great graphics...would have liked to see the attack a bit more responsive, but fun game otherwise :)

Puzzlem00n says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 8:13pm

I kept dying immediately after killing the Yeti. Fun game. Although you should know that when I clicked to retry the fourth time, I couldn't pick up any limbs on this fourth play.

The attacking definitely isn't perfect, but it's a marvel that you finished the limb mechanic in 72 hours. Awesome.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]