April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Tomato Soup

by queader - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Move using arrow keys, shoot with the spacebar and destroy all the towers protected by non-player characters!

You can also destroy parts of the map.

Works best on Google Chrome. (Sounds are only supported on this cool browser ;)

Created using HTML5, JavaScript and CreateJS.

Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#284Humor2.68
#569Graphics3.00
#657Fun2.87
#662Audio2.52
#674Overall3.06
#696Mood2.74
#737Theme3.35
#987Innovation2.50

Comments

MauMaGau says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:21am

Loved the characters, very cute :) Control of the player was a big issue for me - felt very disconnected and unable to properly control the character. Would benefit greatly from mouse aiming.

rwos says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:16pm

Very nice - especially the destructible walls (and the fact that the enemies also destroy the walls)! The graphics are also attractive (the connection to the theme has been noted :)), audio is fine - great work, feels very solid! I only wished the player character would rotate a bit faster.

Kyle Bolton says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:36pm

I'm really impressed with how well the game runs at Level 10. Very well optimized. I also really liked the very frantic gameplay. If anything, I wish I could have a HUD that shows my current score. Good job!

SuperDisk says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:52pm

Hey, I won! Cool game, though it seemed to take forever to destroy the color blocks. Is it even possible?

queader says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:56pm

No, it's impossible ;)

Cosmologicon says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:02am

Awesome use of the theme! Cool but it seems like I have an enormous amount of HP. The game got much easier once I decided to be bold and just go straight for the towers.

Diventurer says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:14am

-1 score?
I died, but I got way more than -1 :(

GetFun says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:14am

whoa very fun! gratz!

Per says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:15am

Nice!
Kind of difficult though :)
I like the destructable environment :D

zkenshin says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:15pm

Really liked the chaotic fighting. :)

Morgawr says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:49pm

Nice little game, I appreciated the wall-breaking mechanic and the AI. Good job.

Sebastian says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:57pm

Very slick presentation and the gameplay is engaging and fun. Maybe I just haven't given myself enough time to get used to the controls, but I'm finding it very hard to navigate the player due to the amount he drifts and its slow turn speed. I'm with MauMaGau on the mouse aiming thing...

Robrock55 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:14pm

The AI is better than me :(
But it's a good game, I had a lot of fun playing it !

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:15pm

The character looks great. I think you should have made more of that.

Shugor says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:39am

This was a pretty creative game, especially with its graphics. The map design and the destructable environment went together pretty well. The enemies seemed to spawn a little too fast for me on the earlier levels, and it turned into a test of how fast I could get to the towers rather than trying to shoot them down. The player control is also rather difficult to get a handle of. Most of my problems might just be me being bad at the game, though. Good work~

DaveDobson says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 12:49am

Interesting idea; I like the artwork and the Mondrian framework (my game was set in a Mondrian as well). I didn't seem to be able to fire fast enough to kill all the guardian guys around the other bases, which meant I had to choose between semi-boring hiding out behind walls and shooting into the battle, or going for broke and usually dying (although there's no indication of your health that I could see). It would be nice to be able to get back to the instructions screen somehow - I accidentally fast-forwarded through it the first time, and then I couldn't get back there. Really great look, complex gameplay, nice sounds.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]